Hamilton pips Rosberg for Spanish pole

Lewis Hamilton sores fourth pole position of the season

Lewis Hamilton sores fourth pole position of the season

Lewis Hamilton pipped his Mercedes team-mate Nico Rosberg to secure his fourth pole position of the season ahead of Sunday’s Spanish Grand Prix.

Once again the battle for pole came down to a fight between the two Mercedes drivers with the Brit emerging on top by just 0.168s.

Red Bull Racing’s Daniel Ricciardo proved to be the best of the rest with the Australian posting the third fastest time, as he continued to over shadow his world champion team-mate Sebastian Vettel.

Vettel will start from 10th on the grid after suffering a mechanical failure at the start of Q3.

The German, who missed the majority of Friday Free Practice with an electrical problem, was unable to post a time after coming to a halt on circuit on his out lap in the final part of qualifying. The incident brought out the red flags for a second time.

Williams driver Valtteri Bottas provided one of the surprises of the session as he grabbed fourth spot ahead of the rapidly improving Lotus of Romain Grosjean.

Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen will line up in sixth ahead of his double world champion team-mate Fernando Alonso, who was unable to perform in front of his home crowd.

Jenson Button was eighth fastest ahead of Felipe Massa, who posted a time only good enough for ninth.

Force India endured their worst qualifying of the season as Nico Hulkenberg and Sergio Perez failed to secure a spot in Q3. The pair will start from 11th and 12th positions respectively.

Pastor Maldonado brought out the red flags in Q1 after losing control of his Lotus at turn 3. The E22 made contact with a concrete wall which ended his qualifying session prematurely.

He joined Adrian Sutil, Max Chilton, Jules Bianchi, Kamui Kobayashi and Marcus Ericsson on the list of drivers who bowed out in Q1.

Toro Rosso’s Jean-Eric Vergne will start from the back of the grid after receiving a 10 place grid penalty for losing a wheel during Friday Free Practice. The stewards deemed the incident a breach of the safety regulations.

Formula 1 Spanish Grand Prix – Qualifying 

Pos Driver Team Time Gap
1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1m25.232s
2 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1m25.400s +0.168s
3 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull-Renault 1m26.285s +1.053s
4 Valtteri Bottas Williams-Mercedes 1m26.632s +1.400s
5 Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault 1m26.960s +1.728s
6 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1m27.104s +1.872s
7 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1m27.140s +1.908s
8 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1m27.335s +2.103s
9 Felipe Massa Williams-Mercedes 1m27.402s +2.170s
10 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault 1m27.602s Q2
11 Nico Hulkenberg Force India-Merced 1m27.685s Q2
12 Sergio Perez Force India-Merced 1m28.002s Q2
13 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso-Renault 1m28.039s Q2
14 Esteban Gutierrez Sauber-Ferrari 1m28.280s Q2
15 Kevin Magnussen McLaren-Mercedes No Time Q2
16 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso-Renault No Time Q2
17 Adrian Sutil Sauber-Ferrari 1m28.563s Q1
18 Max Chilton Marussia-Ferrari 1m29.586s Q1
19 Jules Bianchi Marussia-Ferrari 1m30.177s Q1
20 Marcus Ericsson Caterham-Renault 1m30.312s Q1
21 Kamui Kobayashi Caterham-Renault 1m30.375s Q1
22 Pastor Maldonado Lotus-Renault No Time Q1


Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]