James Davison poised for Indy 500 seat

James Davison

James Davison

Australian James Davison is set to make his Indianapolis 500 debut this month thanks to a last minute deal with KV Racing Technology.

The fourth KV entry, run alongside sister cars for Sebastien Bourdais, Sebastian Saavedra and Townsend Bell, will complete the traditional 33 car field.

The 27-year-old made two IndyCar starts with Dale Coyne Racing last year, finishing 15th at Mid-Ohio and 18th at Sonoma.

Davison’s Chevrolet-powered Dallara will compete with the number #33 at Indy in reference to his entry completing the field.

Without a back-up car, Davison will not start practicing at the famed venue until later this week.

The cousin of V8 Supercar drivers Will and Alex Davison, James moved to the United States to chase his IndyCar dream in 2005.

A runner-up in the 2009 Indy Lights Series, Davison spent four seasons without a full-time drive in any class before linking with The Racer’s Group for an assault on this year’s United Sportscar Series.

He has previous experience of Indy from his two seasons in the Lights class.

Davison is the third Australian in the 2014 Indy 500 line-up, joining Team Penske’s Will Power and Chip Ganassi Racing’s Ryan Briscoe.

See below for full Indy 500 entry list

AJ Foyt Enterprises

Takuma Sato, Martin Plowman(r)


Andretti Autosport

Marco Andretti, Kurt Busch(r), James Hinchliffe, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Carlos Munoz


Bryan Herta Autosport

Jack Hawksworth(r)


Chip Ganassi Racing

Ryan Briscoe, Scott Dixon, Tony Kanaan, Charlie Kimball


Dale Coyne Racing

Carlos Huertas(r), Justin Wilson, Pippa Mann


Dreyer Reinbold Kingdom Racing

Sage Karam(r)


Ed Carpenter Racing

Ed Carpenter, JR Hilderbrand


KV Racing Technology

Townsend Bell, Sebastien Bourdais, Sebasitan Saavedra, James Davison(r)


Lazier Partners Racing

Buddy Lazier


Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing

Graham Rahal, Oriol Servia


Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing

Josef Newgarden, Alex Tagliani


Schmidt Peterson Motorsports

Jacques Villeneuve, Mikhail Aleshin(r), Simon Pagenaud


Team Penske

Juan Pablo Montoya, Helio Castroneves, Will Power



Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]