POLL: Who will be the ninth V8 winner of 2014?

Monday 5th May, 2014 - 10:42am


McLaughlin and Slade shared the front-row for Race 13, but are both yet to score a victory

McLaughlin and Slade shared the front-row for Race 13, but are both yet to score a victory

Eight different drivers have already tasted victory across the opening 13 races of the 2014 V8 Supercars Championship.

Following on from last year’s variety that saw seven winners from the first 13 races and 17 for the season, Jamie Whincup, Mark Winterbottom and Craig Lowndes are this year’s only repeat winners.

Brad Jones Racing drivers Fabian Coulthard and Jason Bright, Erebus driver Lee Holdsworth, the Holden Racing Team’s James Courtney and Tekno’s Shane Van Gisbergen have each snared one win.

The question is; who will be the next to add their name to the winners list?

Young gun Scott McLaughlin has appeared closest to netting a break-through win for the GRM-led Volvo Polestar Racing team.

He has qualified fastest for three heats and although he scored a race win in the non-championship grand prix meeting in Melbourne, he is yet to guide the S60 to victory in a points race.

Others to score at least one podium finish so far this season without a victory are Ford Performance Racing’s Chaz Mostert, Walkinshaw Racing’s Tim Slade and BJR’s Dale Wood.

Mostert meanwhile also ranks among Will Davison, David Reynolds, Garth Tander and James Moffat as last year’s winners that are yet to score victory in 2014.

Have your say on who will be the next driver to add their name to the 2014 winner’s list on the poll below. comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!