Winterbottom claims JR Trophy with Race 13 win

Winterbottom with the Jason Richards Trophy

Winterbottom with the Jason Richards Trophy

Mark Winterbottom became the second winner of the Jason Richards Trophy after beating Scott McLaughlin to the Race 13 win at Pukekohe.

The #5 FPR Falcon was the class of the field in the 200km race, eventually greeting the chequered flag seven seconds ahead of the pole-sitting Volvo.

Running fourth in the early stages, Winterbottom cleared team-mate David Reynolds in the first stint before taking second from Shane van Gisbergen in the pits.

The championship leader then stalked early pacesetter McLaughlin through the middle stint before they pitted together with little over 25 laps remaining.

Emerging from his pit box in the lead, Winterbottom was never troubled thereafter on the way to his third win of the season.

“That’s awesome, what a great weekend,” said Winterbottom afterward.

“I made a bit of a bodgy start and the crew did a great job with the pit strategy.

“We really trucked on and to come away with a 100 point lead is fantastic.

“After taking the points lead last night I wanted to hold onto it heading away from this weekend. I’m rapt!”

“It’s amazing to win the Jason Richards Trophy – that’s the cool part of what we have achieved this weekend,” he added.

“He was a very special guy and I feel honoured to have won it.”

Chaz Mostert added to another strong day for FPR with a third place finish; his second podium in two days.

Shane van Gisbergen, Michael Caruso, Jason Bright, Will Davison, Rick Kelly, Fabian Coulthard and Jamie Whincup completed the top 10 in a race devoid of Safety Car periods.

It was a tough afternoon for Whincup’s team-mate Craig Lowndes. Starting from 18th, the #888 Holden joined Davison’s Mercedes in making its first stop on the opening lap.

Unlike Davison, Lowndes struggled for pace all day, however, eventually finishing 20th.

Second-placed qualifier Tim Slade was one place further back in 21st at the end of the race after a clutch problem on the grid forced a pitlane start.

Todd Kelly finished at the bottom of the order after a drive-through for pitlane speeding.

Also in the wars was David Reynolds, who was leading on the road in a net fourth place when he suffered a left-rear tyre failure at the end of his second stint.

The Bottle-O Falcon driver was 17th at the flag.

RESULTS: Race 13 – ITM 500 Auckland – Pukekohe Park

Position Car Driver Team Car
1   5  Mark Winterbottom Ford Pepsi Max Crew  Ford Falcon FG
2  33  Scott McLaughlin Valvoline Racing GRM  Volvo S60
3   6  Chaz Mostert Ford Pepsi Max Crew  Ford Falcon FG
4  97  Shane Van Gisbergen Team Tekno VIP Petfoods  Holden Commodore VF
5  36  Michael Caruso Norton Hornets  Nissan Altima
6   8  Jason Bright Team BOC  Holden Commodore VF
7   9  Will Davison Erebus Motorsport V8  Mercedes E63 AMG
8  15  Rick Kelly Jack Daniel’s Racing  Nissan Altima
9  14  Fabian Coulthard Lockwood Racing  Holden Commodore VF
10   1  Jamie Whincup Red Bull Racing Australia  Holden Commodore VF
11 222  Nick Percat Walkinshaw Racing  Holden Commodore VF
12   2  Garth Tander Holden Racing Team  Holden Commodore VF
13  16  Scott Pye Wilson Security Racing  Ford Falcon FG
14  22  James Courtney Holden Racing Team  Holden Commodore VF
15   4  Lee Holdsworth Erebus Motorsport V8  Mercedes E63 AMG
16 360  James Moffat Norton Hornets  Nissan Altima
17  55  David Reynolds The Bottle-O Racing Team  Ford Falcon FG
18  18  Jack Perkins Team JELD-WEN  Ford Falcon FG
19  23  Russell Ingall Repair Management Aust Racing  Holden Commodore VF
20 888  Craig Lowndes Red Bull Racing Australia  Holden Commodore VF
21  47  Tim Slade Supercheap Auto Racing  Holden Commodore VF
22  21  Dale Wood Team Advam/GB  Holden Commodore VF
23  34 Robert Dahlgren Valvoline Racing GRM  Volvo S60
24   7 Todd Kelly Jack Daniel’s Racing  Nissan Altima



Position Driver Points
1 Mark Winterbottom  941
2 Craig Lowndes  834
3 Fabian Coulthard  824
4 James Courtney  781
5 Shane Van Gisbergen  777
6 Jamie Whincup  775
7 Scott McLaughlin  651
8 Jason Bright  592
9 David Reynolds  592
10 Will Davison  572
11 Lee Holdsworth  562
12 Tim Slade  550
13 Michael Caruso  540
14 Garth Tander  531
15 Chaz Mostert  527
16 Rick Kelly  512
17 James Moffat  506
18 Russell Ingall  482
19 Scott Pye  453
20 Jack Perkins  424
21 Dale Wood  395
22 Nick Percat  386
23 David Wall  370
24 Todd Kelly  346
25 Robert Dahlgren  237

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]