Goodacre wins Porsche GT3 round at Mallala

John Goodacre wins Races 2 and 3 and the round at Mallala

John Goodacre wins Races 2 and 3 and the round at Mallala

John Goodacre has secured his first round win of the 2014 Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge Australia presented by Pirelli at Mallala Motorsport Park.

After placing second in Saturday’s Jim Richards Endurance Trophy race Goodacre dominated Sunday’s competition winning both races and securing the series’ third round victory.

“There are some extremely quick drivers in this category so it’s good to be able to match them in pace and even beat them on some occasions,” said Goodacre.

“On a weekend like this, whoever made the least mistakes was going to win. If you make a mistake you are going to get past.

Goodacre was first off the start line in the opening race and led through to the finish from Race 1 winner Fraser Ross, Class B ace Campbell, Jon McCorkindale, Peter Fitzgerald, John Karytinos, Scott Taylor, Jed Wallis, Ross McGregor and Grant Sparks in tenth.

Goodacre repeated his impressive form in Race 3, holding off multiple challenges from McCorkindale to take his second race victory.

McCorkindale placed second in Race 3 from Ross, Karytinos, Campbell, Taylor, Wallis, Sparks, Keith Wong and Sam Shahin in tenth.

Matt Campbell remains the Class B benchmark after his third round victory in as many rounds this season.

“It’s great to be able to run with some of the Class A cars this weekend. I’ve never been to Mallala before so to mix it with those drivers and even beat a few is great,” said Campbell.

“Hopefully at a track like Winton I’ll be even closer to the frontrunners.”

Campbell was joined on the Class B podium by local driver Wallis and Sparks.

Fraser Ross now holds a 38 point lead in the Class A standings from Goodacre, with McCorkindale 24 points further behind.

Campbell continues his Class B stronghold with an 85 point lead over Richard Gartner.

Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge Australia presented by Pirelli will next race on June 14-15 at the Winton Motor Raceway round of the Shannons Australian Motor Racing Nationals.

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]