Winterbottom edges McLaughlin in practice

Friday 25th April, 2014 - 10:15am


Mark Winterbottom

Mark Winterbottom

Mark Winterbottom and Scott McLaughlin traded the fastest time at Pukekohe in a practice session that ended with an off from Jamie Whincup.

The Red Bull Racing Holden brought out the red flags in the dying minutes with an off through the Turn 2/3 complex.

The car came to rest in the gravel with its nose resting against the Turn 3 tyre barrier.

Struggling with oversteer, Whincup had been just 13th at the time of the off. Crucially, the car escaped damage ahead of qualifying.

Winterbottom and McLaughlin were the pace-setters throughout the 30 minutes, with the Ford’s eventual fastest time of 1:03.50s proving just 0.08s quicker than the Volvo.

Will Davison’s Mercedes and Rick Kelly’s Nissan made it four marques in the top four.

Jack Perkins and David Reynolds underlined Ford Performance Racing’s strong start in fifth and sixth respectively, while Jason Bright, James Courtney, Shane van Gisbergen and Lee Holdsworth completed the top 10.

A dry track with damp patches greeted the drivers following morning rain, adding to the challenge of finding a qualifying set-up around the fast and bumpy layout.

 PRACTICE #1 – ITM 500 Auckland – Pukekohe Park

Position Car Driver Team Car Time Gap
1   5  Mark Winterbottom  Ford Pepsi Max Crew  Ford Falcon FG  1:03.5007
2  33  Scott McLaughlin  Valvoline Racing GRM  Volvo S60  1:03.5807 0:00.0800
3   9  Will Davison  Erebus Motorsport V8  Mercedes E63 AMG  1:03.7416 0:00.2409
4  15  Rick Kelly  Jack Daniel’s Racing  Nissan Altima  1:03.8510 0:00.3503
5  18  Jack Perkins  Team JELD-WEN  Ford Falcon FG  1:03.8868 0:00.3861
6  55  David Reynolds  The Bottle-O Racing Team  Ford Falcon FG  1:03.9171 0:00.4164
7   8  Jason Bright  Team BOC  Holden Commodore VF  1:03.9625 0:00.4618
8  22  James Courtney  Holden Racing Team  Holden Commodore VF  1:03.9718 0:00.4711
9  97  Shane Van Gisbergen  Team Tekno VIP Petfoods  Holden Commodore VF  1:03.9928 0:00.4921
10   4  Lee Holdsworth  Erebus Motorsport V8  Mercedes E63 AMG  1:04.0118 0:00.5111
11  14  Fabian Coulthard  Lockwood Racing  Holden Commodore VF  1:04.0253 0:00.5246
12  47  Tim Slade  Supercheap Auto Racing  Holden Commodore VF  1:04.0580 0:00.5573
13   1  Jamie Whincup  Red Bull Racing Australia  Holden Commodore VF  1:04.0764 0:00.5757
14  16  Scott Pye  Wilson Security Racing  Ford Falcon FG  1:04.0885 0:00.5878
15  36  Michael Caruso  Norton Hornets  Nissan Altima  1:04.1140 0:00.6133
16   2  Garth Tander  Holden Racing Team  Holden Commodore VF  1:04.1297 0:00.6290
17  17  David Wall  Wilson Security Racing  Ford Falcon FG  1:04.1351 0:00.6344
18 888  Craig Lowndes  Red Bull Racing Australia  Holden Commodore VF  1:04.1489 0:00.6482
19 222  Nick Percat  Walkinshaw Racing  Holden Commodore VF  1:04.1713 0:00.6706
20 360  James Moffat  Norton Hornets  Nissan Altima  1:04.1920 0:00.6913
21  23  Russell Ingall  Repair Management Aust Racing  Holden Commodore VF  1:04.2508 0:00.7501
22   7  Todd Kelly  Jack Daniel’s Racing  Nissan Altima  1:04.3105 0:00.8098
23   6  Chaz Mostert  Ford Pepsi Max Crew  Ford Falcon FG  1:04.4578 0:00.9571
24  34  Robert Dahlgren  Valvoline Racing GRM  Volvo S60  1:04.5403 0:01.0396
25  21  Dale Wood  Team Advam/GB  Holden Commodore VF  1:04.6381 0:01.1374 comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!