Toyota on pole with late flyer at Silverstone

The #7 Toyota of Kazuki Nakajima and Alex Wurz will start from pole at Silverstone

The #7 Toyota of Kazuki Nakajima and Alex Wurz will start from pole at Silverstone

Kazuki Nakajima has produced a stunning lap to give the Toyota TS040 Hybrid pole position for the opening FIA WEC round – the Silverstone 6 Hour.

In what is shaping as an intense battle between the top three LMP1 marques, Toyota grabbed the early bragging rights with a four-lap average of 1:42.774s.

“I am really happy to be on pole position for the first race of the season,” Nakajima said.

“The lap times were very close and I needed to push hard on my last lap to get the lap time. I already had six or seven laps on the tyres.”

The time is taken from Nakajima’s best two laps and the quickest two from his team-mate Alex Wurz as each squad is required to nominate two drivers to perform their qualifying duties.

Tom Kristensen and Loic Duval guided the #1 Audi R18 e-tron quattro to second with a 1:42.779s average while the #14 Porsche 919 Hybrid of Neel Jani and Roman Dumas was third fastest with a 1:43.087s four-lap average across its two qualifying pilots.

The second Audi at the hands of Benoit Treluyer and Andre Lotter was fourth ahead of the #8 Toyota of Anthony Davidson and Nicolas Lapierre.

Mark Webber and Timo Bernhard were sixth fastest in the heavily fancied #20 Porsche after Webber steamed to the best time of the weekend in the third and final practice session.

“We might have left a bit of performance out there, but the team did a very good job,” said Webber.

“A possible wet race would give us an extra challenge on the operational side as well as on track. Despite the temporary four-wheel drive, any race car on the limit in the wet needs the maximum respect.”

In the LMP2 class, Olivier Pla and Roman Rusinov were fastest in the #26 G-Drive Racing Morgan-Nissan.

VIDEO:Qualifying Highlights

See below for full Silverstone 6 Hour qualifying results

1 A.Wurz/S.Sarrazin/K.Nakajima Toyota 1:42.774
2 L.di Grassi/L.Duval/T.Kristensen Audi 1:42.779 0.005
3 R.Dumas/N.Jani/M.Lieb Porsche 1:43.087 0.313
4 M.Fässler/A.Lotterer/B.Tréluyer Audi 1:43.137 0.363
5 A.Davidson/N.Lapierre/S.Buemi Toyota 1:43.189 0.415
6 T.Bernhard/M.Webber/B.Hartley Porsche 1:43.226 0.452
7 D.Kraihamer/A.Belicchi/F.Leimer Lola/Toyota 1:44.285 1.511
8 N.Prost/N.Heidfeld/M.Beche Lola/Toyota 1:44.392 1.618
9 R.Rusinov/O.Pla/J.Canal Morgan/Nissan 1:49.156 6.382
10 M.Howson/R.Bradley/T.Matsuda Oreca/Nissan 1:49.439 6.665
11 K.Ladygin/V.Shaitar/A.Ladygin Oreca/Nissan 1:51.236 8.462
12 S.Zlobin/N.Minassian/M.Mediani Oreca/Nissan 1:51.514 8.740
13 G.Bruni/T.Vilander Ferrari 1:59.125 16.351
14 P.Pilet/J.Bergmeister/N.Tandy Porsche 1:59.380 16.606
15 M.Holzer/F.Makowiecki/R.Lietz Porsche 1:59.717 16.943
16 D.Rigon/J.Calado Ferrari 1:59.841 17.067
17 S.Wyatt/M.Rugolo/S.Bird Ferrari 1:59.932 17.158
18 D.Turner/S.Mücke Aston Martin 1:59.954 17.180
19 M.Griffin/Á.Parente Ferrari 2:00.216 17.442
20 P.D.Lana/P.Lamy/C.Nygaard Aston Martin 2:00.923 18.149
21 L.P.-Companc/M.Cioci/M.Venturi Ferrari 2:00.971 18.197
22 K.Poulsen/D.Hansson/N.Thiim Aston Martin 2:00.982 18.208
23 A.MacDowall/D.O’Young/F.Rees Aston Martin 2:01.122 18.348
24 F.Perrodo/E.Collard/M.Vaxivière Porsche 2:01.886 19.112
25 C.Ried/K.Bachler/K.Al Qubaisi Porsche 2:01.917 19.143
26 J.Mowlem/M.Patterson/B.Collins Ferrari 2:01.953 19.179
27 E.Potolicchio/G.Roda/P.Ruberti Ferrari 2:01.982 19.208

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]