Sykes pips Baz to Aragon World Superbike pole

Tom Sykes

Tom Sykes

Reigning champion Tom Sykes will start from pole position in second round of the World Superbike Championship at Spain’s Motorland Aragon circuit.

The Brit pipped his Kawasaki team-mate Loris Baz to the all important pole by just two tenths of a second with a last gap effort in the dying minutes of Superpole 2.

Aprilia’s Sylvain Guintoli completed the front row in third just ahead of Ducati’s Davide Giugliano and Pata Honda’s Jonathan Rea.

Ducati appeared to have the pace to secure pole with Chaz Davies after an impressive start to the final qualifying session. However, the Welshman ruined his chances with a costly fall and will subsequently start Sunday’s races from sixth.

Davies will start just ahead of Aprilia’s Marco Melandri with half a second separating the top seven riders.

The Crescent Suzuki’s of Eugene Laverty and Alex Lowes struggled for outright pace as the pair secured eighth and ninth spots on the grid respectively.

Toni Elias rounded out the top 10 just ahead of Leon Camier on his return to the championship as a replacement for BMW’s injured Sylvain Barrier.

Pata Honda’s Leon Haslam also suffered a fall in the session but luckily he escaped without injury.

World Superbike Championship Qualifying Results – Aragon 

Pos Rider Team/Bike Time
1 Tom Sykes Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R 1m 56.479s
2 Loris Baz Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R 1m 56.675s
3 Sylvain Guintoli Aprilia Racing RSV4 1m 56.769s
4 Davide Giugliano Ducati SBK 1199 Panigale R 1m 56.825s
5 Jonathan Rea PATA Honda CBR1000RR 1m 56.972s
6 Chaz Davies Ducati SBK 1199 Panigale R 1m 56.977s
7 Marco Melandri Aprilia Racing RSV4 1m 57.063s
8 Eugene Laverty Crescent Suzuki GSX-R1000 1m 57.736s
9 Alex Lowes Crescent Suzuki GSX-R1000 1m 57.975s
10 Toni Elias Red Devils Roma Aprilia RSV4 1m 58.180s
11 Leon Camier BMW Italia S1000RR 1m 59.326s (E)
12 Leon Haslam PATA Honda CBR1000RR No Time
13 Niccolo Canepa Althea Ducati 1199 Panigale R 1m 59.255s (E)
14 David Salom Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R 1m 59.486s (E)
15 Ayrton Badovini Bimota Alstare BB3 1m 59.596s (E)
16 Claudio Corti MV Agusta RC F3RR 1m 59.747s
17 Sheridan Morais IRON BRAIN Kawasaki ZX-10R 2m 00.415s (E)
18 Christian Iddon Bimota Alstare BB3 2m 01.102s (E)
19 Michel Fabrizio IRON BRAIN Kawasaki ZX-10R 2m 01.862s (E)
20 Jeremy Guarnoni MRS Kawasaki ZX-10R No Time (E)
21 Fabien Foret MAHI Kawasaki ZX-10R 2m 01.511s (E)
22 Luca Scassa Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R 2m 01.037s (E)
23 Alessandro Andreozzi Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R 2m 02.507s (E)
24 Imre Toth Team Toth BMW S1000RR 2m 02.672s
25 Aaron Yates Team Hero EBR 1190RX 2m 03.102s
26 Geoff May Team Hero EBR 1190RX 2m 03.657s
27 Peter Sebestyen Team Toth BMW S1000RR 2m 05.570s (E)

*Stay with for all the latest World Superbikes news.

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]