Hamilton quickest as Mercedes evaluates tyres

Lewis Hamilton

Lewis Hamilton

Lewis Hamilton has nailed the fastest time on the second day of official Formula One testing at the Bahrain circuit.

Mercedes used the full final day to analyse a range of different tyres for F1 control tyre supplier Pirelli.

Hamilton topped the times from 11 runners, clocking 1:34.136s after logging 120 laps, one lap less than team-mate Nico Rosberg completed on the previous day.

The winner of last weekend’s Bahrain GP turned 50 laps in the morning before following up to complete 70 laps in the afternoon before the 5.30pm (local time) chequered flag.

“They just gave me different sets and I told them how each felt,” Hamilton said.

“The plan was just to get in as many laps as we could. The times mean nothing as everyone had their own programs to run.

“It’s been a fantastic few weeks for the team but also a long stint away, so I’m sure everyone is looking forward to heading back home for a well-deserved rest.”

Toro Rosso driver Jean-Eric Vergne was next best in 1:35.557s ahead of Kevin Magnussen (1:36.203s) who had a scare after running into the gravel in the morning after a technical issue with the car.

Force India pilot Sergio Perez was fourth with Daniel Ricciardo in fifth with the Red Bull driver accumulating 67 laps in the RB10.

Ricciardo was on a mission to gather aero data with Red Bull announcing that Peter Prodromou had commenced ‘gardening leave’ with Dan Fallows appointed head of aerodynamics in a sudden staff development.

“We had a few issues this morning which limited our running, but the afternoon was a lot better”, Ricciardo said.

“This afternoon was about gathering a lot of data for the aero guys, so there were no real performance runs, just pure testing.

“At the end of the day we got a few medium-length runs in and a few balance changes, like we did yesterday.”

The F1 battle continues over the Easter weekend with the Chinese GP at Shanghai from April 18-20.

See below for Bahrain F1 testing results Day 2

 1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:34.136 118
 2 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso-Renault 1:35.557  63
 3 Kevin Magnussen McLaren-Mercedes 1:36.203  26
 4 Sergio Perez Force India-Mercedes 1:36.586  62
 5 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull-Renault 1:37.310  65
 6 Jules Bianchi Marussia-Ferrari 1:37.316  93
 7 Giedo van der Garde Sauber-Ferrari 1:37.623  77
 8 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1:37.912  12
 9 Marcus Ericsson Caterham-Renault 1:39.263  66
10 Felipe Nasr Williams-Mercedes 1:39.879  64
11 Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault 1:43.732  16


Comments are closed.