Winterbottom breaks Ford drought in Race 9

Mark Winterbottom took out Race 9

Mark Winterbottom took out Race 9

Mark Winterbottom has taken Ford’s first V8 Supercars race win for six months in a Winton finale rocked by pitlane penalties.

Winterbottom’s two biggest threats in the 200km race, Scott McLaughlin and Fabian Coulthard, both saw their efforts tempered by pitlane speeding penalties.

McLaughlin led the opening 20 laps from pole before the superior tyre life of the Ford saw the positions reversed.

The pair pitted together shortly after, where McLaughlin’s infringement would occur.

Winterbottom was then caught by Coulthard throughout the middle stint before they in turn pitted together for their second stops.

With less fuel left to drop, Winterbottom rejoined three seconds ahead, and then found himself managing a healthy gap back to Courtney once Coulthard served his penalty.

Winterbottom was almost 10 seconds to the good at the end of the 67 laps, which ran without a single Safety Car period.

“That’s awesome to have a pretty good weekend and to cap it off with that I thank my team,” said Winterbottom.

“They did an incredible job. Our tyre life was probably not as strong today as yesterday but we had really good pace in qualifying. Sort of changed our car a bit.

“That’s awesome and it’s awesome to see all the blue Ford blue flags. It’s been a little bit of a hard start, but it’s hopefully the start of many. We’ll try and keep coming.”

Tim Slade rounded out the podium, his first for Walkinshaw Racing, despite a pitlane drama of his own.

The Supercheap team was fined $3,000 and deducted 30 Teams’ Championship points mid-race after a wheel rolled down pitlane during the car’s first stop.

Jason Bright was fourth after surviving an early bump with team-mate Dale Wood, whose car eventually went to the garage with engine problems.

David Reynolds and Chaz Mostert added to FPR’s positive day in fifth and sixth respectively, while Craig Lowndes, Michael Caruso, James Moffat and Jamie Whincup completed the top 10.

Coulthard and McLaughlin recovered to just 11th and 16th after their penalties.

Shane van Gisbergen was 12th after switching to a three-stop strategy while struggling for speed in the early laps.

The Tekno Holden slid from its second place starting position to 18th before pitting for the first time on just the seventh lap.

The Kiwi provided much of the entertainment in an otherwise sedate final 25 laps, charging back through from 18th.

Winterbottom now sits second to Lowndes in the championship standings after his victory.

See below results for Race 9

Position Driver Team Car
1  Mark Winterbottom  Ford Pepsi Max Crew  Ford Falcon FG
2  James Courtney  Holden Racing Team  Holden Commodore VF
3  Tim Slade  Supercheap Auto Racing  Holden Commodore VF
4  Jason Bright  Team BOC  Holden Commodore VF
5  David Reynolds  The Bottle-O Racing Team  Ford Falcon FG
6  Chaz Mostert  Ford Pepsi Max Crew  Ford Falcon FG
7  Craig Lowndes  Red Bull Racing Australia  Holden Commodore VF
8  Michael Caruso  Norton Hornets  Nissan Altima
9  James Moffat  Norton Hornets  Nissan Altima
10  Jamie Whincup  Red Bull Racing Australia  Holden Commodore VF
11  Fabian Coulthard  Lockwood Racing  Holden Commodore VF
12  Shane Van Gisbergen  Team Tekno VIP Petfoods  Holden Commodore VF
13  Todd Kelly  Jack Daniel’s Racing  Nissan Altima
14  Rick Kelly  Jack Daniel’s Racing  Nissan Altima
15  Lee Holdsworth  Erebus Motorsport V8  Mercedes E63 AMG
16  Scott McLaughlin  Valvoline Racing GRM  Volvo S60
17  Nick Percat  Walkinshaw Racing  Holden Commodore VF
18  Will Davison  Erebus Motorsport V8  Mercedes E63 AMG
19  Scott Pye  Wilson Security Racing  Ford Falcon FG
20  Russell Ingall  Repair Management Aust Racing  Holden Commodore VF
21  Jack Perkins  Team JELD-WEN  Ford Falcon FG
22  David Wall  Wilson Security Racing  Ford Falcon FG
23  Garth Tander  Holden Racing Team  Holden Commodore VF
24  Robert Dahlgren  Valvoline Racing GRM  Volvo S60
25  Dale Wood  Team Advam/GB  Holden Commodore VF



Position Driver Points
1 Craig Lowndes 701
2 Mark Winterbottom 673
3 Fabian Coulthard 658
4 James Courtney 609
5 Jamie Whincup 606
6 Shane Van Gisbergen 549
7 Tim Slade 473
8 David Reynolds 453
9 Lee Holdsworth 440
10 Scott McLaughlin 406
11 Jason Bright 405
12 Will Davison 405
13 Russell Ingall 377
14 Michael Caruso 374
15 James Moffat 373
16 David Wall 370
17 Garth Tander 369
18 Rick Kelly 369
19 Jack Perkins 331
20 Chaz Mostert 322
21 Scott Pye 318
22 Dale Wood 315
23 Todd Kelly 256
24 Nick Percat 216
25 Robert Dahlgren 174

Comments are closed.