Walsh takes Winton Dunlop Series win

Ashley Walsh's MSR Ford

Ashley Walsh’s MSR Ford

scintillating start set-up the Race 2 and round victories for Ash Walsh in the Dulop Series at Winton Motor Raceway.

The Matt Stone Racing Ford gridded up eighth under the reverse top 10 format, but jumped to second by the first corner.

A mistake from lone front-row starter Andre Heimgarter at the end of the opening lap then handed Walsh a lead he would never lose.

Fifth place starter Paul Dumbrell gave chase after sneeking by Heimgartner on the second lap, but could do nothing about the Ipswich native.

Walsh controlled a mid-race Safety Car restart to eventually take the flag 1.9s ahead of the Eggleston Holden.

Team-mate Garry Jacobson was third after making the best of a spirited scrap between Paul Morris and Cameron Waters.

Waters led a train of cars struck behind the Sargent Security Ford in the early laps, before making an inside dive at Turn 1 just past the halfway mark.

The two Falcons made contact when Morris turned in, shooting the veteran across the infield grass.

Jacobson moved through on both Fords at Turn 3, while Morris bumped Waters sideways at Turn 4 before understeering off through the grass at the following corner.

Although Morris rejoined at Turn 7 still in third position, he soon dropped back behind Jacobson and Waters and drove steadily to an eventual fifth.

Brad Jones Racing duo Andrew Jones and Chris Pither finished sixth and seventh respectively, while Steve Owen charged to eighth after spinning to the back in a tangle with Jones on the opening lap.

The Safety Car had been called on Lap 7 to retrieve Aaron McGill’s Holden from the Turn 4 sand trap after a spin.

The resulting restarted claimed the cars of Morgan Haber, Josh Kean and Shane Price, which were all damaged in a nose-to-tail collision.

The race’s hardest luck story was saved for Taz Douglas, however, with the pole-sitter forced to pit at the end of the warm-up lap with mechanical issues.

He spent the race moving in and out of the pits, eventually taking five laps down.

Waters’ Saturday yesterday ensured him second for the round, with the consistent Dumbrell holding onto a reduced series lead in third.


See below for the full results for Race 2 

Position Driver Team Car
1 Ashley Walsh  Infants Friend  Ford Falcon FG
2 Paul Dumbrell  Eggleston Motorsport  Holden Commodore VE2
3 Garry Jacobson  Eggleston Motorsport  Holden Commodore VE2
4 Cameron Waters  TEAM ENZED FPR  Ford Falcon FG
5 Paul Morris  Sargent Security Racing  Ford Falcon FG
6 Andrew Jones  DGS/Fuchs  Holden Commodore VE2
7 Chris Pither  Icebreak Racing  Holden Commodore VE2
8 Steve Owen  East Coast Traffic Control  Ford Falcon FG
9 Ant Pedersen  Eggleston Motorsport  Holden Commodore VE2
10 Andre Heimgartner  Finance Ezi/MWM  Ford Falcon FG
11 Todd Hazelwood  Matt Stone Racing  Ford Falcon FG
12 Geoff Emery  R&J Batteries  Holden Commodore VE2
13 Marcus Zukanovic  Action Racing  Ford Falcon fg
14 Aaren Russell  Novocastrian Motorsport  Ford Falcon FG
15 Jack Le Brocq  Image Racing  Ford Falcon FG
16 Fredrik Lestrup  Pacific Hoists/Race Pilot  Holden Commodore VE2
17 Jordan Ormsby  THR Motorsports/S.A. Racing  Holden Commodore VE2
18 Matt Hansen  Forpark/Aust Custom Moulders  Holden Commodore VE2
19 Aaron Tebb  Voight Contracting  Holden Commodore VE2
20 Brett Stewart  Formula Tech/Interquip Racing  Holden Commodore VE2
21 Dan Day  Street Fighter  Holden Commodore VE2
22 Tim Macrow  Worldwide Gaming  Holden Commodore VE2
23 Michael Hector  Gulf Western Oil  Ford Falcon FG
24 Jim Pollicina  Mocomm Communications  Ford Falcon FG
25 Garth Walden  CarTorque/Royal Purple  Holden Commodore VE2
26 Aaron McGill  McGill Motorsport  Holden Commodore VE2
27 Taz Douglas  Image Racing  Ford Falcon FG
DNF Josh Kean  Vili’s  Holden Commodore VE2
DNF Shane Price  THR Motorsports/S.A. Racing  Holden Commodore VE2
DNF Morgan Haber  Haber Excavations/Miraflores  Ford Falcon FG

See below points for the full Meeting results

Position Driver Team Car Points
1  Ashley Walsh Infants Friend  Ford Falcon FG  279
2  Cameron Waters TEAM ENZED FPR  Ford Falcon FG  270
3  Paul Dumbrell Eggleston Motorsport  Holden Commodore VE2  249
4  Steve Owen East Coast Traffic Control  Ford Falcon FG  228
5  Andrew Jones DGS/Fuchs  Holden Commodore VE2  222
6  Garry Jacobson Eggleston Motorsport  Holden Commodore VE2  219
7  Paul Morris Sargent Security Racing  Ford Falcon FG  213
8  Chris Pither Icebreak Racing  Holden Commodore VE2  168
9  Andre Heimgartne Finance Ezi/MWM  Ford Falcon FG  162
10  Ant Pedersen Eggleston Motorsport  Holden Commodore VE2  153
11  Geoff Emery R&J Batteries  Holden Commodore VE2  135
12  Todd Hazelwood Matt Stone Racing  Ford Falcon FG  132
13  Marcus Zukanovic Action Racing  Ford Falcon fg  120
14  Jack Le Brocq Image Racing  Ford Falcon FG  108
15  Taz Douglas Image Racing  Ford Falcon FG  102
16  Brett Stewart Formula Tech/Interquip Racing  Holden Commodore VE2   96
17  Morgan Haber Haber Excavations/Miraflores  Ford Falcon FG   96
18  Jordan Ormsby THR Motorsports/S.A. Racing  Holden Commodore VE2   93
19  Matt Hansen Forpark/Aust Custom Moulders  Holden Commodore VE2   93
20  Aaren Russell Novocastrian Motorsport  Ford Falcon FG   84
21  Fredrik Lestrup Pacific Hoists/Race Pilot  Holden Commodore VE2   81
22  Aaron Tebb Voight Contracting  Holden Commodore VE2   78
23  Garth Walden CarTorque/Royal Purple  Holden Commodore VE2   75
24  Michael Hector Gulf Western Oil  Ford Falcon FG   72
25  Shane Price THR Motorsports/S.A. Racing  Holden Commodore VE2   63
26  Dan Day Street Fighter  Holden Commodore VE2   60
27  Jim Pollicina Mocomm Communications  Ford Falcon FG   60
28  Aaron McGill McGill Motorsport  Holden Commodore VE2   60
29  Josh Kean Vili’s  Holden Commodore VE2   57
30  Tim Macrow Worldwide Gaming  Holden Commodore VE2   39

See below for the full Series Points

Position Driver Points
1  Paul Dumbrell 528
2  Ashley Walsh 506
3  Cameron Waters 447
4  Andrew Jones 441
5  Paul Morris 387
6  Garry Jacobson 383
7  Chris Pither 369
8  Andre Heimgartne 360
9  Taz Douglas 335
10  Ant Pedersen 312
11  Todd Hazelwood 288
12  Geoff Emery 273
13  Aaren Russell 234
14  Steve Owen 228
15  Morgan Haber 225
16  Jordan Ormsby 207
17  Marcus Zukanovic 189
18  Matt Hansen 189
19  Brett Stewart 174
20  Michael Hector 162
21  Dan Day 153
22  Aaron McGill 150
23  Fredrik Lestrup 144
24  Jack Le Brocq 108
25  Jay Verdnik 108
26  Jim Pollicina 102
27  Ryan Simpson  90
28  Aaron Tebb  78
29  Garth Walden  75
30  Shane Price  63
31  Josh Kean  57
32  Adam Wallis  51
33  Tim Macrow  39
34  Josh Hunter  33


Comments are closed.