Mercedes romp continues with Rosberg on pole

Nico Rosberg snares first 2014 pole

Nico Rosberg snares first 2014 pole

Nico Rosberg has turned the tables on his team-mate to secure pole position ahead of the Bahrain Formula One Grand Prix.

After taking the prime spot at the season-opening Melbourne round and last week at Sepang, Lewis Hamilton will start from second.

Australian Daniel Ricciardo extracted decent pace out of the Red Bull to qualify third fastest.

However Ricciardo is subject to a 10-place grid drop following his troubled Malaysian GP last week when his team released him from a stop unsafely.

Rosberg, though, has shown a distinct liking for the Bahrain layout which has proved a happy hunting ground for him in the past.

“I really enjoy the track and I won my GP2 Series title here so it has some pretty special memories for me,” Rosberg said after spearing to consecutive Bahrain poles.

“We’ve had a good weekend so far and I’ve been able improve my pace throughout the practice sessions so I was hoping for a strong qualifying.

“It’s so difficult to get everything completely right with all the new technology and set-up requirements on the car but I felt really comfortable this evening and was able to put some great laps together.”

Williams continue to show forward progress with Valtteri Bottas, fourth quickest but will be promoted to third with Ricciardo’s demotion.

Sergio Perez (Force India), Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari), Jenson Button (McLaren) were next best.

Felipe Massa (Williams), Kevin Magnussen (McLaren) and Fernando Alonso (Ferrari) completed the top 10.

Sebastien Vettel missed out on Q3 after being restricted to one fling in Q2 after being hampered with gearbox issues.

He was 11th but moves up to 10th with the penalty imposed on his team-mate.

See below for full qualifying results

 1 Nico Rosberg Mercedes  1:33.185
 2 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes  1:33.464 +0.279
 3 Daniel Ricciardo* Red Bull-Renault  1:34.051 +0.866
 4 Valtteri Bottas Williams  1:34.247 +1.062
 5 Sergio Perez Force India  1:34.346 +1.161
 6 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari  1:34.368 +1.183
 7 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes  1:34.387 +1.202
 8 Felipe Massa Williams  1:34.511 +1.326
 9 Kevin Magnussen McLaren  1:34.712 +1.527
10 Fernando Alonso Ferrari  1:34.992 +1.807
11 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault  1:34.985 +1.277
12 Nico Hulkenberg Force India  1:35.116 +1.408
13 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso-Renault  1:35.145 +1.437
14 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso-Renault  1:35.286 +1.578
15 Esteban Gutierrez Sauber-Ferrari  1:35.891 +2.183
16 Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault  1:35.908 +2.200
17 Pastor Maldonado Lotus-Renault  1:36.663 +1.789
18 Adrian Sutil Sauber-Ferrari  1:36.840 +1.966
19 Kamui Kobayashi Caterham-Renault  1:37.085 +2.211
20 Jules Bianchi Marussia-Ferrari  1:37.310 +2.436
21 Marcus Ericsson Caterham-Renault  1:37.875 +3.001
22 Max Chilton Marussia-Renault  1:37.913 +3.039



Comments are closed.