Owen scores Winton Dunlop Series pole

Steve Owen scored pole on his return to the Dunlop Series

Steve Owen scored pole on his return to the Dunlop Series

Steve Owen has made an impressive return to the Dunlop Series, scoring pole position for this afternoon’s opening race of the weekend at Winton.

The Ford Performance Racing endurance co-driver is competing with MW Motorsport this weekend after a deal was completed on the eve of the event.

Owen sat seventh with just a minute remaining in the 15 minute hit-out for the top 50 percent of the field.

He then jumped to the top with a 1:22.97s, which proved a full 0.5s faster than the quickest man to that point, Cameron Waters.

The lap was also beneath the Development Series qualifying record that had stood since 2004, backing up record-setting track conditions seen yesterday afternoon.

Waters, who had run off at Turn 1 on the first lap with his final set of tyres, responded with two late efforts that drew the Enzed FPR Ford to within 0.1s of Owen.

Morgan Haber will start third after an impressive run that briefly saw the second MW Motorsport Ford looking set for the front-row.

Andrew Jones was the first of the Holdens in fourth ahead of Ant Pedersen, Ash Walsh, Paul Dumbrell, Andre Heimgartner, Chris Pither and Paul Morris.

Garry Jacobson had topped the earlier lower 50 percent session, with his 1:24.5s effort eventually good enough for 12th.

The first segment of qualifying was immediately red flagged after a mechanical problem for Jordan Ormsby’s THR Holden as it exited the pits.

The ex-Kelly Racing Commodore spread oil along the pit exit and into Turn 1, with the resulting clean-up and retrieval of the car halting the session for seven minutes.

The first of two 25 lap Dunlop Series races for the weekend will take place at 1515 local time.

See below for the full qualifying result

1 East Coast Traffic Control Steve Owen Ford Falcon FG 01:22.97
2 TEAM ENZED FPR Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG 01:23.11 00:00.14
3 Haber Excavations/Miraflores Morgan Haber Ford Falcon FG 01:23.39 00:00.42
4 DGS/Fuchs Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE2 01:23.51 00:00.54
5 Eggleston Motorsport Ant Pedersen Holden Commodore VE2 01:23.54 00:00.57
6 Infants Friend Ashley Walsh Ford Falcon FG 01:23.59 00:00.62
7 Eggleston Motorsport Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VE2 01:23.61 00:00.64
8 Finance Ezi/MWM Andre Heimgartner Ford Falcon FG 01:23.67 00:00.70
9 Icebreak Racing Chris Pither Holden Commodore VE2 01:23.91 00:00.94
10 Sargent Security Racing Paul Morris Ford Falcon FG 01:23.95 00:00.98
11 Image Racing Taz Douglas Ford Falcon FG 01:24.01 00:01.04
12 Eggleston Motorsport Garry Jacobson Holden Commodore VE2 01:24.51 00:01.54
13 Matt Stone Racing Todd Hazelwood Ford Falcon FG 01:24.54 00:01.57
14 Novocastrian Motorsport Aaren Russell Ford Falcon FG 01:24.86 00:01.89
15 Image Racing Jack Le Brocq Ford Falcon FG 01:25.03 00:02.06
16 Vili’s Josh Kean Holden Commodore VE2 01:25.16 00:02.19
17 R&J Batteries Geoff Emery Holden Commodore VE2 01:25.30 00:02.33
18 THR Motorsports/S.A. Racing Shane Price Holden Commodore VE2 01:25.36 00:02.39
19 Forpark/Aust Custom Moulders Matt Hansen Holden Commodore VE2 01:25.54 00:02.57
20 Action Racing Marcus Zukanovic Ford Falcon fg 01:25.79 00:02.82
21 CarTorque/Royal Purple Garth Walden Holden Commodore VE2 01:25.98 00:03.01
22 Pacific Hoists/Race Pilot Fredrik Lestrup Holden Commodore VE2 01:26.28 00:03.31
23 Worldwide Gaming Tim Macrow Holden Commodore VE2 01:26.81 00:03.84
24 McGill Motorsport Aaron McGill Holden Commodore VE2 01:26.87 00:03.90
25 Formula Tech/Interquip Racing Brett Stewart Holden Commodore VE2 01:26.91 00:03.94
26 Voight Contracting Aaron Tebb Holden Commodore VE2 01:27.03 00:04.06
27 Street Fighter Dan Day Holden Commodore VE2 01:27.04 00:04.07
28 Gulf Western Oil Michael Hector Ford Falcon FG 01:27.72 00:04.75
29 Mocomm Communications Jim Pollicina Ford Falcon FG 01:28.38 00:05.41
THR Motorsports/S.A. Racing Jordan Ormsby Holden Commodore VE2


Comments are closed.