Holdsworth hands Erebus maiden V8 Supercars win

Saturday 5th April, 2014 - 5:29pm


Lee Holdsworth celebrates victory

Lee Holdsworth celebrates victory

Lee Holdsworth scored Erebus Motorsport’s first V8 Supercars victory with a late-race pass on Fabian Coulthard in Race 8 at Winton.

The #4 Mercedes took the lead with just three laps remaining as tyre life again proved a crucial factor.

Pole-sitter Coulthard had lost the front-running to Scott McLaughlin off the start, before regaining the lead when the Volvo was forced to pit with an electrical problem nine laps in.

Coulthard managed the gap back to Holdsworth for much of the race, but eventually fell to third behind the Mercedes and an equally fast-finishing Mark Winterbottom.

David Reynolds and David Wall made it three Fords in the top five, while James Moffat, Jason Bright, Will Davison, James Courtney and Chaz Mostert completed the top 10.

“(I’m) pretty emotional over the last 12 months and what’s gone during the week (home invasion) hasn’t helped,” said Holdsworth post-race.

“I’m so proud of my boys at Erebus. We’re looking for a sponsor at the moment and this is the best way to try and find one.

“We’re up the front and here to stay I think.”

By contrast to the three Safety Cars seen during Race 7, the day’s second encounter ran green for its duration.

Those to struggle for tyre life included Shane van Gisbergen, who ran as high as fifth early before sliding back to 20th by the flag.

Red Bull duo Jamie Whincup and Craig Lowndes found the going tough from their poor qualifying positions, with the former turning 21st on the grid into 19th and the latter finishing 16th from 23rd.

The results see Coulthard close to within 19 points of series leader Lowndes, with Whincup 58 points further adrift in third.

A final qualifying session and 200km Race 9 of the championship will complete the Winton 400 on Sunday.

See below results for Race 8

Position Driver Team Car
1 Lee Holdsworth Erebus Motorsport V8 Mercedes E63 AMG
2 Mark Winterbottom Ford Pepsi Max Crew Ford Falcon FG
3 Fabian Coulthard Lockwood Racing Holden Commodore VF
4 David Reynolds The Bottle-O Racing Team Ford Falcon FG
5 David Wall Wilson Security Racing Ford Falcon FG
6 James Moffat Norton Hornets Nissan Altima
7 Jason Bright Team BOC Holden Commodore VF
8 Will Davison Erebus Motorsport V8 Mercedes E63 AMG
9 James Courtney Holden Racing Team Holden Commodore VF
10 Chaz Mostert Ford Pepsi Max Crew Ford Falcon FG
11 Tim Slade Supercheap Auto Racing Holden Commodore VF
12 Scott Pye Wilson Security Racing Ford Falcon FG
13 Dale Wood Team Advam/GB Holden Commodore VF
14 Jack Perkins Team JELD-WEN Ford Falcon FG
15 Nick Percat Walkinshaw Racing Holden Commodore VF
16 Craig Lowndes Red Bull Racing Australia Holden Commodore VF
17 Michael Caruso Norton Hornets Nissan Altima
18 Rick Kelly Jack Daniel’s Racing Nissan Altima
19 Jamie Whincup Red Bull Racing Australia Holden Commodore VF
20 Shane Van Gisbergen Team Tekno VIP Petfoods Holden Commodore VF
21 Garth Tander Holden Racing Team Holden Commodore VF
22 Russell Ingall Repair Management Aust Racing Holden Commodore VF
23 Todd Kelly Jack Daniel’s Racing Nissan Altima
24 Robert Dahlgren Valvoline Racing GRM Volvo S60
25 Scott McLaughlin Valvoline Racing GRM Volvo S60

See below for the updated points standings 

1 Craig Lowndes 605
2 Fabian Coulthard 586
3 Jamie Whincup 528
4 Mark Winterbottom 523
5 Shane Van Gisbergen 480
6 James Courtney 471
7 Lee Holdsworth 380
8 Will Davison 354
9 Scott McLaughlin 349
10 Tim Slade 344
11 David Reynolds 342
12 Garth Tander 333
13 Russell Ingall 332
14 David Wall 331
15 James Moffat 314
16 Rick Kelly 306
17 Jack Perkins 289
18 Dale Wood 285
19 Jason Bright 285
20 Michael Caruso 284
21 Scott Pye 270
22 Chaz Mostert 220
23 Todd Kelly 190
24 Nick Percat 162
25 Robert Dahlgren 141 comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!