Steve Owen returns for Winton Dunlop Series

Steve Owen returns to the wheel of MW Motorsport's ex-FPR Ford

Steve Owen returns to the wheel of MW Motorsport’s ex-FPR Ford

Ford Performance Racing endurance co-driver Steve Owen will rejoin MW Motorsport for this weekend’s second round of the Dunlop Series at Winton.

In a deal sealed on the eve of the event, Owen will step into the team’s ex-FPR Ford driven by Ryan Simpson in Adelaide last month.

Owen joined MWM from the second round last year in place of Chaz Mostert, and had hoped to return for a full campaign in 2014 before the pre-season withdrawal of sponsor Sherrin Rentals.

The Gold Coast-based driver is hopeful of finishing the season with MWM, which also runs cars for youngsters Andre Heimgartner and Morgan Haber.

Owen heads to Winton fresh from co-driving a Porsche GT3 R in the Australian GT Championship last weekend, and will also contest the Spa 24 Hours later this year in a Lamborghini.

“I’ve done a few Thursday afternoon seat fittings in my time so there’s no problem from that side of it,” Owen told

“Global Welding and East Coast Traffic Control have come onboard this weekend to make this possible, so hopefully we can get some good results and continue it for the rest of the year.

“Last year we jumped in at Barbagallo without having seen the car before and we had it on pole first time out.

“I think with a year under our belts we’ll have a good strong showing this weekend.”

This weekend was to mark Owen’s first drive of Mark Winterbottom’s FPR V8 Supercar ahead of the Pirtek Enduro Cup.

Although the recent culling of the co-driver practice sessions will leave him with minimal seat-time in the #5 Ford prior to the Sandown 500, Owen says he isn’t concerned by the change.

“In some ways the reduction of the co-driver sessions plays into the hands of guys like myself,” he said.

“This will be my 17th Bathurst, so the practice laps help but they’re not a big deal.

“The great thing about the Dunlop Series is that it gives you actual race miles, so combining this with the GT events I’m doing, I should be well prepared.”

The addition of Owen headlines a 30 car Dunlop Series entry list for Winton.

Other driver swaps see Garth Walden replacing Josh Hunter in the #11 RSport Holden and former full-time V8 Supercars driver Shane Price making his racing return with South Australian squad THR Developments.

Tim Macrow will make his Dunlop Series debut with a new team

Tim Macrow will make his Dunlop Series debut with a new team

A new team, Dragon Motor Racing, will also debut, fielding an ex-PWR Holden for former two-time Australian F3 champion and V8 Supercar rookie Tim Macrow.

The 31-year-old, whose brother Adam won the Development Series in 2006, has modest hopes for the early part of the season before a planned mid-year upgrade to an ex-Garry Rogers Motorsport chassis purchased from Minda Motorsport.

“It’s going to be a real toe-in-the-water exercise for us this weekend,” Macrow told

“It’s a bit of an older car and for us it’ll be about getting the team up and running and trying to finish the two races.

“We’ve only done a 15 lap shakedown pre-event, but it was good to do that because we had a few issues to iron out.

“For this weekend if we’re 15th to 20th, then we’ll be ecstatic.

“Once we get into the newer car we’ll be looking to move into the top 10.”

In other Dunlop Series news, South Australian Josh Kean has enlisted the help of Tony D’Alberto as a driver coach this weekend.

Kean’s ex-Walkinshaw Racing Holden has also taken on the #3 plate used by D’Alberto over the last five seasons.

Eggleston Motorsport’s Paul Dumbrell leads the standings by 46 points over Taz Douglas following the opening round in Adelaide.

See below for the full Winton Dunlop Series entry list

# Team Sponsor Name CAMS Competitor Name Driver Model
3 Vili’s Josh Kean Josh Kean VE II
10 Image Racing Image Racing Taz Douglas FG
11 TBA Bruin Beasley Garth Walden VE II
20 TBA Brad Jones Racing Andrew Jones VE II
24 Worldwide Gaming Klein Corporation Pty Ltd Tim Macrow VE II
25 Street Fighter S & J Automotive Dan Day VE II
26 Finance Ezi MW Motorsport Andre Heimgartner FG
27 Global Welding/East Coast Traffic Control MW Motorsport Steve Owen FG
28 Miraflores Estate/Haber Excavations MW Motorsport Morgan Haber FG
35 Matt Stone Racing Matt Stone Racing Todd Hazelwood FG
38 Eggleston Motorsport Eggleston Motorsport Ant Pederson VE II
42 Icebreak Racing Brad Jones Racing Chris Pither VE II
44 Pacific Hoists / Halda Race Pilot Rsport Race Engineering Fredrik Lestrup VE II
45 THR Motorsports/S.A.Racing & Logistics THR Developments Pty Ltd Shane Price VE II
46 THR Motorsports/S.A.Racing & Logistics THR Developments Pty Ltd Jordan Ormsby VE II
48 R&J Batteries Emery Motorsport Geoff Emery VE II
49 Image Racing Image Racing Jack Le Brocq FG
50 Forpark / Australian Custom Moulders Matthew Hansen Matthew Hansen VE II
51 Mocomm Communication Jim Pollicina Jim Pollicina FG
54 Eggleston Motorsport Eggleston Motorsport Garry Jacobson VE II
56 TEAM ENZED FPR Prodrive Racing (Australia) Pty Ltd Cam Waters FG
58 Go Karts Go Novocastrian Motorsport Aaren Russell FG
60 Gulf Western Oil Matt Stone Racing Michael Hector FG
67 Sargent Security Racing Nemo Racing Pty Ltd Paul Morris FG
71 Action Racing Action Racing Marcus Zukanovic FG
73 Formula Tech Performance/Interquip Racing Brett Stewart Brett Stewart VE II
75 McGill Motorsport Auto-Motion Australia Aaron McGill VE II
87 Infants Friend Matt Stone Racing Ash Walsh FG
88 Eggleston Motorsport Eggleston Motorsport Paul Dumbrell VE II
98 Voight Contracting Rsport Race Engineering Aaron Tebb VE II


Comments are closed.