Power stakes early claim with St Pete victory

Will Power claims first blood in IndyCar series opener in Florida

Will Power claims first blood in IndyCar series opener in Florida

Toowoomba ace Will Power has started his IndyCar campaign in fine style by dominating the opening round at the St Petersburg street race Florida.

Starting from fourth position Power took the race by the scruff of the neck to lead his #12 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet to victory in the 110-lap race.

The win emulates his effort in 2010 when he took the race after scoring pole position.

It was the 22nd IndyCar career victory for Power who is a strong chance of cracking a maiden win in the series this season.

Ryan Hunter-Reay (Andretti Autosport) finished second, just under 2s in arrears of the Queenslander with Power’s team-mate Helio Castroneves finishing third.

“I’m pretty tired; mentally tired. Stoked to get the first win for Verizon as a series sponsor,” Power said who had won the pole at this event the previous four years running.

Defending series champion Scott Dixon (Chip Ganassi) finished fourth ahead of Simon Pagenaud (Schmidt Peterson Hamilton).

The polesitter Takuma Sato was seventh just behind Chip Ganassi’s Tony Kanaan.

Power claimed two bonus points for leading the most laps.

The third Team Penske driver, the 2000 Indy 500 winner Juan Montoya finished 15th after starting 18th in his IndyCar series return, 15 years after taking the CART title.

Former Penske driver Ryan Briscoe, back full-time in 2014 with Chip Ganassi, finished 10th.

VIDEO: Race Highlights

See below for full results of St Petersburg 

 1 Will Power Penske/Chevy 2:06.57.6288s
 2 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti/Honda +1.9475
 3 Helio Castroneves Penske/Chevy +7.8716
 4 Scott Dixon Ganassi/Chevy +15.9685
 5 Simon Pagenaud Schmidt/Honda +17.3937
  6 Tony Kanaan Ganassi/Chevy +20.3882
 7 Takuma Sato Foyt/Honda +20.8561
 8 Justin Wilson Coyne/Honda +21.0622
 9 Josef Newgarden Fisher/Honda +21.5544
10 Ryan Briscoe Ganassi/Chevy +23.9897
11 Sebastian Saavedra KV/Chevy +34.4041
12 Mikhail Aleshin Schmidt/Honda +34.9969
13 Sebastien Bourdais KV/Chevy +35.3526
14 Graham Rahal Rahal/Honda +38.9881
15 Juan Pablo Montoya Penske/Chevy +40.3350
16 Mike Conway Carpenter/Chevy +40.9140
17 Carlos Munoz Andretti/Honda +44.6244
18 Carlos Huertas Coyne/Honda +47.5637
19 James Hinchcliffe Andretti/Honda +1 lap
20 Charlie Kimball Ganassi/Chevy 108 laps
21 Jack Hawksworth Herta/Honda 83 laps
22 Marco Andretti Andretti/Honda 82 laps

See below for IndyCar points standings

Pos Driver Points
1 Will Power 53
2 Ryan Hunter-Reay 40
3 Hélio Castroneves 36
4 Scott Dixon 32
5 Simon Pagenaud 30
6 Tony Kanaan 28
7 Takuma Sato 28
8 Justin Wilson 24
9 Josef Newgarden 22
10 Ryan Briscoe 20
11 Sebastian Saavedra 19
12 Mikhail Aleshin 18
13 Sébastien Bourdais 17
14 Graham Rahal 16
15 Juan Pablo Montoya 15
16 Mike Conway 15
17 Carlos Muñoz 13
18 Carlos Huertas 12
19 James Hinchcliffe 11
20 Charlie Kimball 10
21 Jack Hawksworth 9
22 Marco Andretti 8

Comments are closed.