Whincup completes Symmons qualifying sweep

Jamie Whincup scored his third straight pole

Jamie Whincup scored his third straight pole

Red Bull Racing Australia again flexed its muscles in Race 6 qualifying, with Jamie Whincup and Craig Lowndes securing the front-row of the grid.

In a repeat of Saturday’s two sessions, Whincup narrowly edged his team-mate around the 2.4km Symmons Plains venue.

The Volvo of Scott McLaughlin and Mercedes of Will Davison will share the second row, ahead of Holden runners James Courtney and Shane van Gisbergen.

A 51.24s best had Whincup just 0.01s ahead of McLaughlin’s Volvo before the 20 minute session’s final green tyre runs.

Lowndes and McLaughlin then briefly bumped Whincup to third in the dying minutes before the five-time champion countered with the fastest time of the weekend to date; a 50.98s..

Seventh and ninth respectively for Tim Slade and Nick Percat ensured Walkinshaw Racing had three cars in the top 10.

Stable-mate Garth Tander, however, will start 24th after missing the bulk of the session with power steering problems.

Faring even worse was Jack Perkins, who found himself in an early-session tangle with Mark Winterbottom at Turn 2.

Perkins had been exiting the pits as Winterbottom rounded Turn 2 on a hot-lap, resulting in significant contact between the two Fords.

The Pepsi Max FPR entry went on to qualify 13th; four places behind the fastest Ford runner, Dick Johnson Racing’s David Wall.

The 200km Race 6 will get underway at 1555 local time.

See below for the full qualifying result 

1 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 00:50.97
2 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 00:51.08 00:00.12
3 Valvoline Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 00:51.18 00:00.21
4 Erebus Motorsport V8 Will Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 00:51.18 00:00.21
5 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 00:51.27 00:00.31
6 Team Tekno VIP Petfoods Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 00:51.29 00:00.32
7 Supercheap Auto Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 00:51.31 00:00.34
8 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Ford Falcon FG 00:51.33 00:00.37
9 Heavy Haulage Australia Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 00:51.36 00:00.39
10 Erebus Motorsport V8 Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG 00:51.36 00:00.39
11 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 00:51.38 00:00.41
12 Norton Hornets Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 00:51.39 00:00.42
13 Ford Pepsi Max Crew Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 00:51.40 00:00.43
14 Wilson Security Racing Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG 00:51.42 00:00.45
15 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 00:51.43 00:00.46
16 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 00:51.43 00:00.46
17 Ford Pepsi Max Crew Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG 00:51.45 00:00.49
18 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 00:51.47 00:00.51
19 Repair Management Aust Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 00:51.53 00:00.57
20 Team Advam/GB Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 00:51.53 00:00.57
21 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 00:51.57 00:00.60
22 Norton Hornets James Moffat Nissan Altima 00:51.58 00:00.62
23 Valvoline Racing GRM Robert Dahlgren Volvo S60 00:51.69 00:00.72
24 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 00:51.98 00:01.01
25 Team JELD-WEN Jack Perkins Ford Falcon FG 00:52.37 00:01.40


Comments are closed.