Lowndes turns tables in Symmons finale

Craig Lowndes took victory in Race 6

Craig Lowndes took victory in Race 6

Craig Lowndes took a dominant victory over team-mate Jamie Whincup in the third and final race of the weekend at Symmons Plains.

The championship leader took the ascendancy from pole-sitter Whincup off the grid.

With track position determining the strategies at Red Bull, Whincup joined several others in pitting at the end of the opening lap.

The move ensured the duo ran off-sequence for the early part of the race, an insurance policy against a Safety Car period.

Once the second stops were complete with 37 of the 84 laps remaining, Lowndes enjoyed a near 10 second lead, after which he controlled the race to the flag.

Whincup secured second from James Courtney and Will Davison, who beat Fabian Coulthard to fourth by just 0.12s.

The entire 84 lap, 200km journey ran green for its duration, with each car completing two stops to appease the compulsory fuel drop requirement.

Much of the race’s interest focussed on the battle for second, with Whincup – on older tyres – holding off McLaughlin and Courtney during the second stints.

Courtney emerged from his final stop narrowly ahead of McLaughlin, with minor contact between the pair as the HRT Commodore rejoined tweaking the Volvo’s steering.

McLaughlin was subsequently unable to hold off Davison and Coulthard, who ran long first and second stints in order to have fresher rubber for the end.

Shane van Gisbergen and Tim Slade finished within five seconds of fourth place in seventh and eighth respectively, while Mark Winterbottom and David Reynolds salvaged ninth and 10th from a tough day for FPR.

Further back, it was a horror run for Nissan Motorsport, with its cars finishing line-astern in 19th through 22nd.

The HRT’s Garth Tander completed the field in 25th after losing 11 laps with front-end problems.

The results see Lowndes take a 70 point lead over Whincup, who jumped from seventh to second across the Symmons Plains event, heading to Winton next weekend.

See below for the full Race 6 result

1 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 84 01:15:08.32
2 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 84 01:15:13.72
3 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 84 01:15:18.42
4 Erebus Motorsport V8 Will Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 84 01:15:21.35
5 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 84 01:15:21.48
6 Valvoline Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 84 01:15:25.81
7 Team Tekno VIP Petfoods Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 84 01:15:26.54
8 Supercheap Auto Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 84 01:15:26.85
9 Ford Pepsi Max Crew Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 84 01:15:27.23
10 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 84 01:15:28.25
11 Repair Management Aust Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 84 01:15:29.78
12 Erebus Motorsport V8 Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG 84 01:15:36.57
13 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Ford Falcon FG 84 01:15:37.43
14 Ford Pepsi Max Crew Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG 84 01:15:40.04
15 Heavy Haulage Australia Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 84 01:15:41.86
16 Wilson Security Racing Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG 84 01:15:45.19
17 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 84 01:15:47.59
18 Team JELD-WEN Jack Perkins Ford Falcon FG 84 01:15:56.63
19 Norton Hornets Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 83 01:15:08.88
20 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 83 01:15:09.43
21 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 83 01:15:10.20
22 Norton Hornets James Moffat Nissan Altima 83 01:15:16.68
23 Valvoline Racing GRM Robert Dahlgren Volvo S60 83 01:15:32.54
24 Team Advam/GB Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 83 01:15:59.68
25 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 73 01:15:24.43

See below for the updated points standings

1 Craig Lowndes 532
2 Jamie Whincup 462
3 Fabian Coulthard 447
4 James Courtney 429
5 Mark Winterbottom 406
6 Shane Van Gisbergen 389
7 Scott McLaughlin 334
8 Tim Slade 308
9 Garth Tander 282
10 Russell Ingall 274
11 Rick Kelly 259
12 Will Davison 258
13 Lee Holdsworth 250
14 David Reynolds 246
15 David Wall 243
16 James Moffat 238
17 Michael Caruso 233
18 Jack Perkins 230
19 Scott Pye 205
20 Dale Wood 188
21 Jason Bright 177
22 Chaz Mostert 147
23 Todd Kelly 145
24 Robert Dahlgren 125
25 Nick Percat 111






Comments are closed.