Bottas receives grid drop and penalty points

Tom Howard

Sunday 30th March, 2014 - 11:41am


Valtteri Bottas is the first driver to receive penalty points

Valtteri Bottas is the first driver to receive penalty points

Valtteri Bottas is the first driver to receive penalty points as part of Formula 1’s new scheme after the Finn impeded Daniel Ricciardo in qualifying for the Malaysian Grand Prix.

The Williams driver was adjudged to have blocked the Australian while on an out lap in the wet Q2 session at Sepang. However, the block failed to hamper Ricciardo’s progress into Q3.

After an investigation the incident, the stewards have slapped Bottas with three penalty points for his part in the incident.

Under new for 2014 guidelines, any driver that accumulates 12 penalty points during the season will be given a one race ban.

Bottas has also received a three place grid penalty for his actions and will start Sunday’s Malaysian Grand Prix from 18th position. This is his second grid penalty in as many races after receiving a five place drop for a gearbox change at Albert Park.

Meanwhile, the stewards have taken no further action regarding the Q2 collision between Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso and Toro Rosso’s Danill Kvyat.

The Russian made contact with the Spaniard at turn 4 causing significant damage to the Ferrari’s front wishbones. Luckily the damage was repaired in time for Alonso to take part in Q3 where he qualified fourth.

“The stewards do not believe either driver were wholly or predominately to blame for the incident,” they said.

Malaysian Grand Prix Grid

Pos Driver Team
1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault
3 Nico Rosberg Mercedes
4 Fernando Alonso Ferrari
5 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull-Renault
6 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari
7 Nico Hulkenberg Force India-Mercedes
8 Kevin Magnussen McLaren-Mercedes
9 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso-Renault
10 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes
11 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso-Renault
12 Esteban Gutierrez Sauber-Ferrari
13 Felipe Massa Williams-Mercedes
14 Sergio Perez Force India-Mercedes
15 Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault
16 Pastor Maldonado Lotus-Renault
17 Adrian Sutil Sauber-Ferrari
18 Valtteri Bottas Williams-Mercedes
19 Jules Bianchi Marussia-Ferrari
20 Kamui Kobayashi Caterham-Renault
21 Max Chilton Marussia-Ferrari
22 Marcus Ericsson Caterham-Renault

See below for’s expert guide to the Malaysian Grand Prix

Stay with for all the latest news from the Malaysian GP this weekend comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!