Whincup doubles up with Race 5 victory

Jamie Whincup

Jamie Whincup

Jamie Whincup made it two wins from two starts on Saturday at Symmons Plains by leading Race 5 of the championship from start to finish.

Cleared of wrongdoing in a Race 4 clash with team-mate Craig Lowndes just moments before the start, Whincup out-dragged fellow front-row man Mark Winterbottom to the first corner.

The FPR Falcon tracked the five-time champion for the race’s 42 lap duration, eventually taking the flag 0.5s adrift.

Fabian Coulthard, Scott McLaughlin and Craig Lowndes completed the top five.

Lowndes was the star of the race, charging through from the back of the grid after a technical infringement saw the #888 Holden scrubbed from the qualifying result.

He made it to fifth before a Safety Car was called with just a handful of laps to go, but could not find a way around McLaughlin’s Volvo in the dying stages.

Race 5 was action-packed from the opening lap, where Will Davison brought out the Safety Car by beaching his Mercedes in the Turn 4 gravel.

James Courtney and Robert Dahlgren also dropped to the back of the field in the hairpin melee; after which Courtney staged an impressive fightback to finish 11th.

Todd Kelly was 14th at the flag despite a drive-through penalty for a restart infringement, while Russell Ingall was 23rd after befalling a similar fate.

Rick Kelly’s beached Altima was the cause of the second Safety Car. The 2006 champion had been tagged into a spin at Turn 6 by Chaz Mostert, who was quickly penalised for his action.

Nick Percat was the only non-finisher, with the Walkinshaw Holden having sustained early damage while attempting to overtake Ingall.

A final qualifying session and 200km Race 6 will complete the weekend’s V8 Supercars action on Sunday.

See below for the full Race 5 result

1 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 42 42:46.34
2 Ford Pepsi Max Crew Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 42 42:46.83
3 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 42 42:48.58
4 Valvoline Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 42 42:50.06
5 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 42 42:50.26
6 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 42 42:50.73
7 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 42 42:53.53
8 Wilson Security Racing Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG 42 42:53.73
9 Team JELD-WEN Jack Perkins Ford Falcon FG 42 42:54.49
10 Erebus Motorsport V8 Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG 42 42:54.74
11 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 42 42:55.17
12 Team Tekno VIP Petfoods Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 42 42:56.16
13 Norton Hornets James Moffat Nissan Altima 42 42:56.81
14 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 42 42:57.26
15 Supercheap Auto Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 42 42:57.70
16 Norton Hornets Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 42 42:58.46
17 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 42 42:58.94
18 Valvoline Racing GRM Robert Dahlgren Volvo S60 42 42:59.06
19 Ford Pepsi Max Crew Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG 42 43:18.16
20 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Ford Falcon FG 41 42:51.34
21 Repair Management Aust Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 41 43:01.41
22 Team Advam/GB Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 41 43:04.49
23 Erebus Motorsport V8 Will Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 40 43:02.92
24 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 40 43:08.20
DNF Heavy Haulage Australia Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 8 21:27.50

See below for the updated points standings

1 Craig Lowndes 382
2 Fabian Coulthard 336
3 Jamie Whincup 324
4 Mark Winterbottom 322
5 James Courtney 297
6 Shane Van Gisbergen 291
7 Garth Tander 249
8 Scott McLaughlin 232
9 Tim Slade 224
10 Rick Kelly 214
11 Russell Ingall 202
12 James Moffat 198
13 Michael Caruso 182
14 Lee Holdsworth 178
15 David Wall 177
16 Jack Perkins 176
17 David Reynolds 165
18 Dale Wood 155
19 Jason Bright 147
20 Scott Pye 145
21 Will Davison 138
22 Chaz Mostert 108
23 Todd Kelly 101
24 Robert Dahlgren 86
25 Nick Percat 51


Comments are closed.