Lowndes stays ahead in Practice 2

Craig Lowndes again set the pace in Practice 2

Craig Lowndes again set the pace in Practice 2

Craig Lowndes continued his strong form at Symmons Plains by topping the second of Friday’s three 20 minute practice sessions.

The Red Bull Holden driver moved his 51.64s benchmark from the first session down to 51.31s by the end of the second hit-out.

Late efforts put Nick Percat and Michael Caruso second and third respectively, albeit 0.3s away from Lowndes’ best.

Lowndes team-mate Jamie Whincup bounced back from this morning’s power steering problems to be fourth quickest.

Russell Ingall, Fabian Coulthard, Scott Pye, Dale Wood, Scott McLaughlin and Shane van Gisbergen completed the top 10.

Following his 21st place performance in Practice 1, McLaughlin spent much of the second session in the bottom half of the order before jumping as high as fourth on his final run.

David Wall completed just five laps after his Dick Johnson Racing Ford suffered power steering issues, ending up 0.9s away from the pace in 24th.

Robert Dalhgren rounded out the order in the second Volvo, with the Swedish rookie a further 0.3s behind Wall.

The day’s third and final 20 minute session will get underway at 1405 local time.

See below for the full Practice 2 result

1 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 00:51.31
2 Heavy Haulage Australia Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 00:51.60 00:00.30
3 Norton Hornets Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 00:51.63 00:00.33
4 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 00:51.66 00:00.35
5 Repair Management Aust Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 00:51.68 00:00.38
6 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 00:51.77 00:00.47
7 Wilson Security Racing Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG 00:51.79 00:00.49
8 Team Advam/GB Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 00:51.82 00:00.51
9 Valvoline Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 00:51.85 00:00.55
10 Team Tekno VIP Petfoods Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 00:51.86 00:00.55
11 Ford Pepsi Max Crew Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 00:51.89 00:00.59
12 Supercheap Auto Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 00:51.90 00:00.59
13 Ford Pepsi Max Crew Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG 00:51.91 00:00.61
14 Team JELD-WEN Jack Perkins Ford Falcon FG 00:51.93 00:00.62
15 Norton Hornets James Moffat Nissan Altima 00:51.93 00:00.63
16 Erebus Motorsport V8 Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG 00:51.95 00:00.65
17 Erebus Motorsport V8 Will Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 00:51.95 00:00.65
18 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 00:52.01 00:00.70
19 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 00:52.01 00:00.71
20 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 00:52.03 00:00.72
21 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 00:52.12 00:00.81
22 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 00:52.14 00:00.83
23 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 00:52.16 00:00.85
24 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Ford Falcon FG 00:52.17 00:00.87
25 Valvoline Racing GRM Robert Dahlgren Volvo S60 00:52.51 00:01.20


Comments are closed.