Lowndes fastest, Whincup strikes trouble in P1

Craig Lowndes set the fastest time in the opening session

Craig Lowndes set the fastest time in the opening session

The Red Bull Racing Australia Holdens bookended the field in opening practice for the Tyrepower Tasmania 400 at Symmons Plains.

Craig Lowndes set the pace in the first of three 20 minute sessions, clocking consecutive fastest times on his final two laps.

His best of 51.64s left previous fast-man Jason Bright second quickest, 0.19s adrift.

Tim Slade, Fabian Coulthard, Mark Winterbottom, Garth Tander and Chaz Mostert completed a Holden-Ford lock-out of the top seven places.

Michael Caruso was the fastest of the Nissans in eighth, with Will Davison leading the Erebus Mercedes effort in 18th and Scott McLaughlin a low-key 21st in the top Volvo.

Team-mate and circuit rookie Robert Dahlgren improved steadily throughout the session, ending up just 1.4s from the pace in 24th.

A power steering pump problem cut Jamie Whincup’s session short after just three laps, leaving him 25th in the final order.

A damp track from morning rain proved little hindrance to quick times for the front-runners, with Garth Tander the first to get within a second of the practice lap record at the halfway mark.

A further two 20 minute sessions will complete today’s reduced practice schedule.

See below for the full Practice 1 result 

1 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 00:51.64
2 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 00:51.83 00:00.19
3 Supercheap Auto Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 00:51.88 00:00.24
4 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 00:51.90 00:00.26
5 Ford Pepsi Max Crew Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 00:51.90 00:00.26
6 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 00:51.92 00:00.28
7 Ford Pepsi Max Crew Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG 00:51.93 00:00.29
8 Norton Hornets Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 00:51.97 00:00.33
9 Heavy Haulage Australia Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 00:51.99 00:00.35
10 Team Tekno VIP Petfoods Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 00:51.99 00:00.35
11 Wilson Security Racing Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG 00:52.00 00:00.36
12 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 00:52.03 00:00.39
13 Erebus Motorsport V8 Will Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 00:52.05 00:00.41
14 Repair Management Aust Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 00:52.11 00:00.47
15 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 00:52.12 00:00.48
16 Norton Hornets James Moffat Nissan Altima 00:52.14 00:00.50
17 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 00:52.14 00:00.50
18 Erebus Motorsport V8 Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG 00:52.17 00:00.53
19 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Ford Falcon FG 00:52.22 00:00.58
20 Team JELD-WEN Jack Perkins Ford Falcon FG 00:52.23 00:00.59
21 Valvoline Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 00:52.35 00:00.71
22 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 00:52.40 00:00.76
23 Team Advam/GB Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 00:52.69 00:01.05
24 Valvoline Racing GRM Robert Dahlgren Volvo S60 00:52.99 00:01.35
25 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 00:55.86 00:04.22


Comments are closed.