FPR duo set for Brazilian debut

Winterbottom with start seventh with Sergio Jimenez

Winterbottom with start seventh with Sergio Jimenez

Mark Winterbottom will start from seventh position on his debut in the Brazilian Stock Car series at the Interlagos Circuit in São Paulo, while FPR stable mate Dean Canto will start 16th.

33 cars have entered the two-driver race event with the V8 Supercar duo joining a range of drivers with F1, DTM, Sportscar and Indycar experience.

Winterbottom will share a Peugeot 408-bodied car with local driver Sergio Jimenez, while Canto will team-up with former V8 driver Max Wilson in a Chevrolet Cruze.

After politely sitting through the drivers briefing, which was done in Portuguese, Winterbottom said on Twitter “It’s the first time a drivers briefing has made sense!”

Wilson and Canto back together for the first time since 2002

Wilson and Canto back together for the first time since 2002

The team gave Winterbottom the first two practice sessions in the car before the last session was rained out for Jimenez. “Awesome to do some laps. The car is great fun to drive. Fast race pace on the used tyres,” said Winterbottom via Twitter.

This morning’s qualifying went strongly with Winterbottom saying, “I was P4 out of the internationals and Sergio was P10. They combine our times which puts us seventh for the race. Like our series the top-10 with combined times is covered by two tenths of a second. So close!

“Really talented drivers over here so tomorrow’s race will be interesting. Rules are that local driver starts and co driver finishes.”

Canto who is back in the same car with Wilson for the first time since 2002 said via Twitter “Different beast to drive but awesome cars and awesome track. Great to be driving with Max again, but this time on his home turf.”

This weekend’s race is the first time a two-driver format is being used and pole went to Caca Bueno and Pato Silva.

In the race each car will have 11 ‘Push to Pass’ power-up opportunities, plus a driver change must occur between laps 13-16, with 20 litres of fuel to be added and all four tyres changed.

QUALIFYING: Brazil Stock Car –  Interlagos Circuit in São Paulo

Pos Drivers Time
1 Caca Bueno / Juan Manuel Silva 1:40.003
2 Felipe Fraga / Rodrigo Sperafico 1:40.004
3 Daniel Serra / Alessandro Pier Guidi 1:40.114
4 Valdeno Brito / Jeroen Bleekemolen 1:40.153
5 Denis Navarro / Alvaro Parente 1:40.175
6 Attila Abreu / Nelson Piquet Jr 1:40.207
7 Sergio Jimenez / Mark Winterbottom 1:40.227
8 Marcos Gomes / Mauro Giallombardo 1:40.247
9 Rubens Barrichello / Augusto Farfus 1:40.248
10 Vitor Genz / Vitor Meira 1:40.274
11 Thiago Camilo / Lucas Di Grassi 1:40.282
12 Popo Bueno / Gabriel Ponce de Leon 1:40.347
13 Luciano Burti / Ricardo Rosset 1:40.413
14 Allam Khodair / Bruno Junqueira 1:40.481
15 Julio Campos / Fabio Carbone 1:40.609
16 Max Wilson / Dean Canto 1:40.677
17 Nono Figueiredo / Miguel Molina 1:40.680
18 Antonio Pizzonia / Bruno 1:40.687
19 Ricardo Zonta / Aventin Diego 1:40.760
20 Tuka Rocha / Craig Dolby 1:40.825
21 Alceu Feldmann / Roberto Merhi 1:40.892
22 Ricardo Mauricio / Oswaldo Negri 1:40.942
23 Galid Osman / Cesar Ramos 1:40.988
24 Diego Nunes / Jaime Melo 1:41.016
25 Bia Figueiredo / Duda Pamplona 1:41.029
26 Gabriel Casagrande / Enrique Bernoldi 1:41.094
27 Rafa Matos / Felipe Maluhy 1:41.142
28 Lucas Foresti / Antonio Jorge Neto 1:41.227
29 Felipe Tozzo / Claudio Ricci 1:41.247
30 Felipe Lapenna / Chico Serra 1:41.493
31 Bob Knight / Fabio Career 1:41.565
32 Rafael Suzuki / Giuliano Losacco 1:41.639
33 Fabio Fogaca / Muffato David 1:47.766


Comments are closed.