Caruso ups the ante in second V8 practice

MIchael Causo topped Practice 2

MIchael Causo topped Practice 2

Michael Caruso set the fastest time in the second and final practice for the V8 Supercars at Albert Park ahead of this evening’s qualifying session.

Continuing the solid form that saw the beyondblue Nissan second in the opening session, Caruso moved 1.1s ahead of the pack by clocking a 1:56.24s lap with 10 minutes on the remaining.

Ford Performance Racing’s Mark Winterbottom drew closest in the closing stages, ending up 0.17s adrift in second.

Scott McLaughlin, who had been at the top for much of the session’s first half, responded with late fast laps of his own to end up third.

Jamie Whincup, Todd Kelly and Will Davison ensured that all five manufacturers were represented in the top six.

Like the opening hit-out, several drivers tasted the outfield during the 30 minutes without bringing out the red flags.

This evening’s 30 minute qualifying session will decide the grid for tomorrow’s opening race.

See below for the full Practice 2 result

1 Norton Hornets Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 01:56.24
2 Pepsi Max Crew Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 01:56.41 00:00.17
3 Valvoline Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 01:56.53 00:00.29
4 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 01:56.66 00:00.42
5 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 01:56.73 00:00.50
6 Erebus Motorsport V8 Will Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 01:56.89 00:00.65
7 Team TEKNO VIP Petfoods Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 01:56.91 00:00.67
8 Supercheap Auto Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 01:57.12 00:00.89
9 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 01:57.19 00:00.95
10 Team ADVAM / GB Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 01:57.38 00:01.15
11 Wilson Security Racing Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG 01:57.42 00:01.18
12 Pepsi Max Crew Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG 01:57.43 00:01.20
13 Erebus Motorsport V8 Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG 01:57.46 00:01.22
14 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Ford Falcon FG 01:57.47 00:01.24
15 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 01:57.48 00:01.24
16 Norton Hornets James Moffat Nissan Altima 01:57.49 00:01.26
17 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 01:57.58 00:01.34
18 Jeld-wen Jack Perkins Ford Falcon FG 01:57.64 00:01.40
19 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 01:57.69 00:01.46
20 Repair Management Aust Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 01:57.75 00:01.51
21 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 01:57.95 00:01.72
22 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 01:58.36 00:02.13
23 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 01:58.37 00:02.13
24 Walkinshaw Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 01:58.60 00:02.37
25 Valvoline Racing GRM Robert Dahlgren Volvo S60 02:00.22 00:03.98


Comments are closed.