Courtney wins dramatic Clipsal 500 finale

James Courtney

James Courtney

James Courtney and the Holden Racing Team prevailed in a dramatic final race at the Clipsal 500 in Adelaide.

After a 250km encounter packed with incidents and controversial penalties, Courtney was left to fend off Lowndes in a seven-lap shootout.

Lowndes had lost position to Courtney while saving fuel early in the final stint and could not find a way back by the HRT Commodore.

Shane van Gisbergen recovered to finish third despite an early drive-through penalty for a Safety Car restart infringement.

Fabian Coulthard and Rick Kelly, who received drive-throughs for restart and pit speeding infringements, completed the top five.

Jamie Whincup had been in the box seat to win the race until a pitlane penalty for the car controller touching the #1 Holden in its second pitstop.

Whincup eventually finished 15th after being further delayed by a clash with Michael Caruso in the closing stages.

The race was punctuated by a major accident for Jason Bright that saw the Team BOC Holden roll-over at Turn 1.

The former Bathurst winner emerged unscathed from the incident that also put paid to the chances of Garth Tander, Lee Holdsworth, Chaz Mostert and Scott Pye.

The final podium position changed hands three times in the final dozen laps.

Scott McLaughlin had appeared destined to take a second straight podium for Volvo before an electrical problem saw the S60 grind to a halt on the circuit.

Nick Percat was left to fend-off the remainder of the pack after the resulting Safety Car restart, but clouted the Turn 8 wall with just five laps remaining.

Van Gisbergen had restarted sixth, but made short work of Tim Slade and Fabian Coulthard before benefitting from Percat’s mistake.

Will Davison had also tasted the Turn 8 concrete earlier in the race; crashing out after a touch from James Moffat’s Nissan.

Lowndes leads the points standings after the first three races of the season from Coulthard, Van Gisbergen, Whincup, Rick Kelly and Courtney.

See below for the full Race 3 result

Pos Team Driver Car Laps Time
1 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 76 01:57:52.9386
2 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 76 01:57:53.6044
3 Team Tekno VIP Petfoods Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 76 01:57:57.7960
4 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 76 01:57:58.5962
5 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 76 01:57:58.8457
6 Supercheap Auto Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 76 01:57:59.7336
7 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 76 01:58:00.5064
8 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Ford Falcon FG 76 01:58:01.7922
9 Norton Hornets James Moffat Nissan Altima 76 01:58:03.6915
10 Team Advam/GB Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 76 01:58:25.6431
11 Team JELD-WEN Jack Perkins Ford Falcon FG 75 01:58:11.1175
12 Ford Pepsi Max Crew Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 75 01:58:14.9868
13 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 73 01:58:13.7739
14 Norton Hornets Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 71 01:59:03.8160
15 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 68 01:58:38.0732
16 Erebus Motorsport V8 Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG 66 01:58:16.5612
17 Repair Management Aust R Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 60 01:58:17.1955
DNF Walkinshaw Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 71 01:51:02.7609
DNF Valvoline Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 65 01:40:18.3527
DNF Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 13    21:32.3380
DNF Wilson Security Racing Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG 13    21:33.5873
DNF Ford Pepsi Max Crew Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG 13    21:35.0853
DNF Valvoline Racing GRM Robert Dahlgren Volvo S60 12    19:15.7356
DNF Erebus Motorsport V8 Will Davison Mercedes E63 AMG  9    12:37.2811
DNF Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima  2     2:57.3482

2014 V8 Supercars Championship standings (after Race 3)

Pos Driver Points
1 Craig Lowndes 282
2 Fabian Coulthard 230
3 Shane Van Gisbergen 221
4 Rick Kelly 198
5 James Courtney 192
6 Mark Winterbottom 189
7 Jamie Whincup 174
8 Tim Slade 163
9 Garth Tander 150
10 James Moffat 140
11 Michael Caruso 133
12 Russell Ingall 121
13 David Wall 121
14 David Reynolds 120
15 Scott McLaughlin 117
16 Jack Perkins 115
17 Dale Wood 112
18 Lee Holdsworth 111
19 Will Davison  72
20 Todd Kelly  70
21 Jason Bright  66
22 Scott Pye  61
23 Chaz Mostert  51
24 Robert Dahlgren  39
25 Nick Percat  24


Comments are closed.