Volvo fast again in final Clipsal 500 practice

Scott McLaughlin fell just shy of topping Practice 4

Scott McLaughlin fell just shy of topping Practice 4

Expectations that Volvo can contend for victory in its first V8 Supercars race this evening have been further heightened by a strong performance from Scott McLaughlin in final practice.

The 20-year-old repeated his performance from Friday evening’s second qualifying session by again setting the second fastest time.

McLaughlin’s final lap of 1:20.94s proved just 0.007s shy of Fabian Coulthard’s benchmark in Practice 4.

The Lockwood Holden topped the order form the halfway mark, with Coulthard improving his own best time inside the final 10 minutes to cement the position.

Coulthard had also set the final quickest in Practice 3 on Friday before managing just 10th and 16th in the two qualifying sessions.

“The car feels pretty good,” he said after Practice 4.

“We were a little unlucky in qualifying that the car didn’t generate the grip we expected, but it seems to be back to where it should be now.”

Jason Bright, Tim Slade, Michael Caruso, Jamie Whincup, Rick Kelly, Shane van Gisbegen, David Wall and Will Davison completed a top 10 that again saw all five manufacturers represented.

Todd Kelly meanwhile failed to complete a lap after his Altima dropped onto seven cylinders. A new VK56DE will be installed ahead of this evening’s races.

“It’s a shame because we had something new we wanted to try in the session,” said Kelly.

“It just went onto seven cylinders behind the pits and it’s not something we can fix (without changing the engine).”

See below for the full Practice 4 result

1 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 01:20.93
2 Valvoline Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 01:20.94 00:00.01
3 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 01:20.99 00:00.05
4 Supercheap Auto Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 01:21.22 00:00.29
5 Norton Hornets Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 01:21.31 00:00.38
6 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 01:21.37 00:00.43
7 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 01:21.43 00:00.50
8 Team Tekno VIP Petfoods Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 01:21.48 00:00.54
9 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Ford Falcon FG 01:21.49 00:00.56
10 Erebus Motorsport V8 Will Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 01:21.55 00:00.62
11 Erebus Motorsport V8 Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG 01:21.57 00:00.64
12 Repair Management Aust Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 01:21.57 00:00.64
13 Ford Pepsi Max Crew Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG 01:21.71 00:00.78
14 Norton Hornets James Moffat Nissan Altima 01:21.79 00:00.86
15 Wilson Security Racing Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG 01:21.81 00:00.88
16 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 01:21.82 00:00.89
17 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 01:21.86 00:00.92
18 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 01:21.87 00:00.94
19 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 01:21.90 00:00.97
20 Ford Pepsi Max Crew Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 01:21.96 00:01.03
21 Team Advam/GB Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 01:22.11 00:01.18
22 Team JELD-WEN Jack Perkins Ford Falcon FG 01:22.15 00:01.22
23 Valvoline Racing GRM Robert Dahlgren Volvo S60 01:22.26 00:01.33
24 Walkinshaw Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 01:22.34 00:01.41
Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima


Comments are closed.