Dumbrell wins as Waters and Walsh collide

Saturday 1st March, 2014 - 7:16pm


Paul Dumbrell

Paul Dumbrell

Paul Dumbrell swept to victory on his return to the Dunlop Series after a dramatic clash between Cameron Waters and Ashley Walsh in Race 2.

Pole-sitter Walsh lost the lead to Waters off the start, but refused to let his rival get away.

Closing the gap through mid-race traffic, Walsh attempted to take the lead when Waters ran wide at Turn 4 on Lap 23 of 27, only to fail to leave room for the FPR Falcon on the exit.

The resulting contact between the pair damaged Waters’ front-right suspension and sent Walsh into a spin.

Dumbrell moved through to the lead before cruising home to the race and round wins four seconds ahead of second-placed Taz Douglas.

“It’s not the way you want to win the race and we certainly didn’t have the quickest car,” said Dumbrell, who had last won in the second-tier series during his most recent outing at Mallala in 2002.

“We were third quickest and that’s where we finished yesterday. There’s a bit of work to do but it was good fun.”

Andrew Jones led home Dumbrell’s Eggleston team-mates Ant Pedersen and Garry Jacobson in third.

Walsh secured third for the round with sixth in the Race 2 while Waters limped home 22nd.

Walsh later said that he had thought he’d left enough room for Waters when the cars made contact.

“We were catching some backmarkers and I knew Cam was a little vulnerable,” he said.

“He made a bit of a mistake, I went up the inside and I thought I’d cleared him and we touched wheels on the exit and you saw the result.”

The Dunlop Series will continue at Winton in April.

See below for the full Race 2 result

1 Eggleston MS/Wilson Security Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VE2 26 36:15.59
2 Image Racing Taz Douglas Ford Falcon FG 26 36:21.27
3 Team Advam Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE2 26 36:25.39
4 Eggleston MS/Wilson Security Ant Pedersen Holden Commodore VE2 26 36:27.72
5 Eggleston MS/Wilson Security Garry Jacobson Holden Commodore VE2 26 36:33.52
6 Infants Friend Ashley Walsh Ford Falcon FG 26 36:34.49
7 Finance Ezi Andre Heimgartner Ford Falcon FG 26 36:34.97
8 Icebreak Racing Chris Pither Holden Commodore VE2 26 36:37.03
9 Matt Stone Racing Todd Hazelwood Ford Falcon FG 26 36:40.32
10 Sargent Security Racing Paul Morris Ford Falcon FG 26 36:41.01
11 R&J Batteries Geoff Emery Holden Commodore VE2 26 36:53.26
12 Miraflores Estate/Haber Excava Morgan Haber Ford Falcon FG 26 36:55.75
13 Go Karts Go Aaren Russell Ford Falcon FG 26 36:56.83
14 THR Motorsports/S.A. Racing Jay Verdnik Holden Commodore VE2 26 36:58.37
15 McGill Motorsport Aaron McGill Holden Commodore VE2 26 37:23.87
16 THR Motorsports/S.A. Racing Jordan Ormsby Holden Commodore VE2 26 37:29.98
17 Gulf Western Oil Michael Hector Ford Falcon FG 26 37:32.55
18 Dreamland Bedding Dan Day Holden Commodore VE2 25 36:16.45
19 Forpark/Aust Custom Moulders Matt Hansen Holden Commodore VE2 25 36:17.69
20 Formula Tech/Interquip Racing Brett Stewart Holden Commodore VE2 25 36:19.33
21 Poll Performance Jim Pollicina Ford Falcon FG 25 37:06.22
22 TEAM ENZED FPR Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG 25 37:42.10
23 Parramatta Smash Repairs Ryan Simpson Ford Falcon FG 24 36:28.21
24 Worlds Best Technology/Castrol Josh Hunter Holden Commodore VE2 24 36:55.12
DNF Pacific Hoists/Halda Race Pilo Fredrik Lestrup Ford Falocon FG 25 37:22.14
DNF Image Racing Jack Le Brocq Ford Falcon FG 24 33:53.77
DNF Warrin Mining Volvo Constructi Adam Wallis Holden Commodore VE2 21 30:17.03
DNF Action Racing Marcus Zukanovic Ford Falcon fg 19 27:01.59
DNF Voight Contracting Aaron Tebb Holden Commodore VE2 3 04:32.52

See below for total meeting points

1 Paul Dumbrell 279
2 Taz Douglas 258
3 Ashley Walsh 252
4 Andrew Jones 213
5 Chris Pither 201
6 Andre Heimgartner 198
7 Garry Jacobson 183
8 Cameron Waters 177
9 Paul Morris 174
10 Ant Pedersen 159
11 Todd Hazelwood 153
12 Jay Verdnik 153
13 Aaren Russell 144
14 Geoff Emery 135
15 Morgan Haber 126
16 Jordan Ormsby 102
17 Matt Hansen  96
18 Dan Day  93
19 Aaron McGill  90
20 Michael Hector  90
21 Ryan Simpson  90
22 Brett Stewart  78
23 Marcus Zukanovic  66
24 Fredrik Lestrup  60
25 Adam Wallis  51
26 Jim Pollicina  42
27 Josh Hunter  33
28 Jack Le Brocq   0
29 Aaron Tebb   0
30 Josh Kean   0




 comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!