Waters takes maiden Dunlop Series pole

Cameron Waters in the way to pole position

Cameron Waters in the way to pole position

Cameron Waters will start his first race as a Ford Performance Racing driver from pole position after an impressive qualifying performance.

The Mildura native clocked a 1:21.83s time on just his second flying lap before sitting in pitlane for the remainder of the 15 minute session.

Friday pace-setter Ash Walsh will share the front-row with Waters, moving to within 0.14s of his rival during the closing minutes.

Paul Dumbrell ended up third after losing crucial time on the grass at the exit of the final corner on his last lap.

Andre Heimgartner, Taz Douglas, Chris Pither, Paul Morris, Ant Pedersen, Andrew Jones and Geoff Emery completed the top 10.

“I’m absolutely stoked to have my first pole with my new team,” said Waters.

“The car has been really good all weekend. I knew I had to do it on my second lap and I was able to put a clean one together.

“We’re looking forward to the race. The start will be pretty critical. We’ll hopefully be able to get a good start, get into a rhythm and not to make any mistakes.”

The session was split into the upper and lower 50 percent from practice.

Morgan Haber set the pace in the first 15 minutes before slipping to 14th one the second lot of 15 cars hit the track.

The first race of the Dunlop Series season will get underway at 1815 local time.

See below for Dunlop Series qualifying results

1  TEAM ENZED FPR  Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG 1:21.8279
2  Infants Friend  Ashley Walsh Ford Falcon FG 1:21.9676 0:00.1397
3  Eggleston MS/Wilson  Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VE2 1:21.9799 0:00.1520
4  Finance Ezi  Andre Heimgartner Ford Falcon FG 1:22.3116 0:00.4837
5  Image Racing  Taz Douglas Ford Falcon FG 1:22.3145 0:00.4866
6  Icebreak Racing  Chris Pither Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.3369 0:00.5090
7  Sargent Security Racing  Paul Morris Ford Falcon FG 1:22.4507 0:00.6228
8  Eggleston MS/Wilson  Ant Pedersen Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.5052 0:00.6773
9  Team Advam  Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.6281 0:00.8002
10  R&J Batteries  Geoff Emery Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.7809 0:00.9530
11  Eggleston MS/Wilso  Garry Jacobson Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.7903 0:00.9624
12  Go Karts Go  Aaren Russell Ford Falcon FG 1:22.8882 0:01.0603
13  Image Racing  Jack Le Brocq Ford Falcon FG 1:22.9648 0:01.1369
14  Miraflores Estate/Haber  Morgan Haber Ford Falcon FG 1:23.1090 0:01.2811
15  Parramatta Smash Repairs  Ryan Simpson Ford Falcon FG 1:23.1668 0:01.3389
16  Action Racing  Marcus Zukanovic Ford Falcon fg 1:23.3139 0:01.4860
17  Alphabet  Josh Kean Holden Commodore VE2 1:23.4451 0:01.6172
18  Worlds Best Technology/Castrol  Josh Hunter Holden Commodore VE2 1:23.5597 0:01.7318
19  Matt Stone Racing  Todd Hazelwood Ford Falcon FG 1:23.5885 0:01.7606
20  Pacific Hoists/Halda Race Pilo  Fredrik Lestrup Ford Falocon FG 1:23.6659 0:01.8380
21  THR Motorsports/S.A. Racing  Jay Verdnik Holden Commodore VE2 1:23.9655 0:02.1376
22  Warrin Mining Volvo  Adam Wallis Holden Commodore VE2 1:24.8123 0:02.9844
23  THR Motorsports/S.A. Racing  Jordan Ormsby Holden Commodore VE2 1:24.9047 0:03.0768
24  Forpark/Aust Custom Moulders  Matt Hansen Holden Commodore VE2 1:25.3005 0:03.4726
25  McGill Motorsport  Aaron McGill Holden Commodore VE2 1:25.5212 0:03.6933
26  Dreamland Bedding  Dan Day Holden Commodore VE2 1:25.8519 0:04.0240
27  Gulf Western Oil  Michael Hector Ford Falcon FG 1:25.8699 0:04.0420
28  Formula Tech/Interquip Racing  Brett Stewart Holden Commodore VE2 1:26.1331 0:04.3052
29  Volight Contracting  Aaron Tebb Holden Commodore VE2 1:26.1729 0:04.3450
30  Poll Performance  Jim Pollicina Ford Falcon FG 1:26.7623 0:04.9344


Comments are closed.