Tim Slade fastest in second Clipsal practice

Tim Slade set the fastest time in Practice 2

Tim Slade set the fastest time in Practice 2

Tim Slade put Walkinshaw Racing atop the time sheets in the second V8 Supercars practice session of the weekend at the Clipsal 500.

Slade’s best of 1:21.15s came at the end of a three-lap spell during his second of three runs.

Practice 1 pace-setter Shane van Gisbergen moved to second in the dying stages to end the session just 0.06s adrift.

The fastest times were almost half a second quicker than those seen during the morning.

Slade admitted that he had good tyres to use in the session, which marked just his second official hit-out since switching from Erebus Motorsport to the Holden team.

“It’s going fairly well so far but it’s only practice and you don’t know where everyone else is at,” he said.

Rick Kelly continued Nissan’s strong form in third, running three laps within a tenth of his eventual best.

Fabian Coulthard, Garth Tander, Jamie Whincup, Michael Caruso, Todd Kelly, Jason Bright and Craig Lowndes completed the top 10.

All six Fords again missed the top 10, with Mark Winterbottom leading the Blue Oval’s contenders in 11th.

His session included an off at Turn 11 that was blamed on low front-tyre temperatures.

It was a tougher second session for the Volvos as team-mates Robert Dahlgren and Scott McLaughlin ended up 20th and 23rd respectively.

The latter’s S60 broke an anti roll-bar adjuster during the run and ended up a second away from the pace.

The 30 minute session again ran without a red flag stoppage.

See below for the session result 

1 Supercheap Auto Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 01:21.15
2 Team Tekno VIP Petfoods Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 01:21.20 00:00.06
3 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 01:21.21 00:00.06
4 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 01:21.29 00:00.14
5 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 01:21.30 00:00.15
6 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 01:21.35 00:00.20
7 Norton Hornets Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 01:21.48 00:00.33
8 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 01:21.53 00:00.38
9 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 01:21.59 00:00.44
10 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 01:21.59 00:00.44
11 Ford Pepsi Max Crew Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 01:21.72 00:00.58
12 Repair Management Aust Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 01:21.73 00:00.58
13 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 01:21.78 00:00.64
14 Ford Pepsi Max Crew Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG 01:21.85 00:00.70
15 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Ford Falcon FG 01:21.87 00:00.72
16 Walkinshaw Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 01:21.90 00:00.75
17 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 01:21.91 00:00.76
18 Wilson Security Racing Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG 01:21.93 00:00.78
19 Norton Hornets James Moffat Nissan Altima 01:21.99 00:00.84
20 Valvoline Racing GRM Robert Dahlgren Volvo S60 01:22.07 00:00.92
21 Erebus Motorsport V8 Will Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 01:22.09 00:00.94
22 Erebus Motorsport V8 Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG 01:22.11 00:00.96
23 Valvoline Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 01:22.20 00:01.05
24 Team Advam/GB Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 01:22.50 00:01.35
25 Team JELD-WEN Jack Perkins Ford Falcon FG 01:22.53 00:01.39


Comments are closed.