Shae Davies scores maiden Carrera Cup pole

Shae Davies with his first pole award in the Carerra Cup

Shae Davies with his first pole award in the Carerra Cup

Shae Davies has scored his first pole position in the Porsche Carrera Cup, edging Steve Richards in a record breaking session in Adelaide.

Driving the Davbridge Constructions 911, Davies also scored bragging rights as the first winner of a pole award aboard the new-generation Type 991 Porsche 911 GT3.

Damage to Michael Almond's 911

Damage to Michael Almond’s 911

In a swaying battle at the top of the time sheets Richards, Nick Foster (Sonic Motor Racing Services) and Warren Luff (No Second Chance/Phase 8) traded fastest times before Davies struck the final blow with a 1:21.5255 to beat the lap record set by Luff yesterday by 0.2-seconds.

One driver with plenty to do is multiple champion Craig Baird (Bonaire/Wilson Security), who will start this evening’s opening 15-lap race from 10th place on the grid.

Shane Smollen in the McGrath Estate Agents 911 will head the Elite field after setting the 11th time of the 23 car field.

A crew with some work on their hands is the Copyworld Porsche of Michael Almond who found the fence in the dying seconds of qualifying existing Turn 8.

The first race of three gets underway just after 7pm local time this evening.

VIDEO: Shae Davies and Shane Smollen speak after qualifying in Adelaide

CARRERA CUP: Adelaide – Qualifying

Pos Sponsor Driver Pro/Elite Time Gap
1  Davbridge Constructions  Shae Davies (QLD)  P  1:21.5255R
2  Laser Plumbing & Electrical  Steven Richards (VIC)  P  1:21.6590r  0:00.1335
3  No Second Chance/Phase 8  Warren Luff (QLD)  P  1:21.7655r  0:00.2400
4  Sonic Motor Racing Services  Nick Foster (VIC)  P  1:21.8220  0:00.2965
5  Onsite Racing  Michael Patrizi (SA)  P  1:22.2338  0:00.7083
6  Sonic Motor Racing Services  Nick McBride (VIC)  P  1:22.4634  0:00.9379
7  AVCS  Sam Power (SA)  P  1:22.5582  0:01.0327
8  Rentcorp  Duvashen Padayachee (SA)  P  1:22.7009  0:01.1754
9  Copyworld  Michael Almond (SA)  P  1:22.7408  0:01.2153
10  Bonaire/Wilson Security  Craig Baird (VIC)  P  1:22.8946  0:01.3691
11  McGrath Estate Agents  Shane Smollen (NSW)  E  1:23.6069  0:02.0814
12  Alternative Freight Services  Tony Bates (VIC)  E  1:24.1174  0:02.5919
13  Porsche Brighton  James Bergmuller (VIC)  E  1:24.6409  0:03.1154
14  Objective Racing  Tony Walls (QLD)  E  1:24.7443  0:03.2188
15  Royal Purple Oil/Garth Walden  Ash Samadi (NSW)  E  1:24.9602  0:03.4347
16  JBS Swift  Roger Lago (QLD)  E  1:25.0030  0:03.4775
17  Phenix Motorsport  Brenton Ramsay (SA)  E  1:25.0504  0:03.5249
18  Fujitsu Racing  Renee Gracie (QLD)  P  1:25.4791  0:03.9536
19  Grove Group  Stephen Grove (VIC)  E  1:25.5191  0:03.9936
20  Hallmarc  Marc Cini (VIC)  E  1:25.9349  0:04.4094
21  Adrian Mastronadro  Adrian Mastronardo  E  1:26.7161  0:05.1906
22  Finance EZI  Maurice Pickering (QLD)  E  1:26.7316  0:05.2061
23  Equity-One  Dean Koutsoumidis (VIC)  E  1:26.8908  0:05.3653


Comments are closed.