Luff the pacesetter in Carrera Cup practice

Thursday 27th February, 2014 - 5:40pm


Warren Luff was the fast man in Carrera Cup practice

Warren Luff was the fast man in Carrera Cup practice

Warren Luff has proved the pace of the new Type 991 Porsche 911 breaking the practice record of the Carrera Cup by a fraction under one second.

Luff in the No Second Chance/Phase 8 entry set a time of 1:21.7762 to eclipse the record set by Alex Davison back in 2012 of 1:22.7555.

Marking the 75th event of the Carrera Cup series in Australia, all 23 entries got their first laps of the Adelaide Parklands circuit in the new

Shane Smollen fastest in Elite

Shane Smollen fastest in Elite

GT3 version of the 911, a car that has range of changes from the previous 997 model including a wider tyre, new electronics system and paddle-shift gear box. A number of engineers from Porsche in Germany are on-hand this weekend assisting crews with the new Cup Car.

Luff set the benchmark time in the two sessions as others, including the likes of multiple champion Craig Baird in the Bonaire/Wilson Security entry were still coming to grips with the new car.

Tony Bates in the Alternative Freight Services 911 was fastest of the Elite runners in the first session with a 1:25.4258. The afternoon practice belonged to Shane Smollen in the McGrath Estate Agents GT3 with a time of 1:24.0882.

Teams face qualifying tomorrow just after 1pm before the opening 15 lap race later that evening at 7.10pm local time.



VIDEO: Warren Luff and Shane Smollen speak after practice 

CARRERA CUP: Adelaide – Practice #2

Pos Sponsor Driver Pro/Elite Time Gap
1 No Second Chance/Phase 8  Warren Luff (QLD)  P 1:21.7762R
2 Laser Plumbing & Electrical  Steven Richards (VIC)  P 1:22.1481r 0:00.3719
3 Davbridge Constructions  Shae Davies (QLD)  P 1:22.3265r 0:00.5503
4 Sonic Motor Racing Services  Nick McBride (VIC)  P 1:22.6096r 0:00.8334
5 Sonic Motor Racing Services  Nick Foster (VIC)  P 1:22.7176r 0:00.9414
6 Onsite Racing  Michael Patrizi (SA)  P 1:22.9587 0:01.1825
7 AVCS  Sam Power (SA)  P 1:23.5293 0:01.7531
8 Bonaire/Wilson Security  Craig Baird (VIC)  P 1:23.9521 0:02.1759
9 Rentcorp  Duvashen Padayachee (SA)  P 1:23.9966 0:02.2204
10 McGrath Estate Agents  Shane Smollen (NSW)  E 1:24.0882 0:02.3120
11 Copyworld  Michael Almond (SA)  P 1:24.1359 0:02.3597
12 Alternative Freight Services  Tony Bates (VIC)  E 1:24.5255 0:02.7493
13 Porsche Brighton  James Bergmuller (VIC)  E 1:24.9621 0:03.1859
14 JBS Swift  Roger Lago (QLD)  E 1:25.3033 0:03.5271
15 Objective Racing  Tony Walls (QLD)  E 1:25.7426 0:03.9664
16 Grove Group  Stephen Grove (VIC)  E 1:25.8509 0:04.0747
17 Royal Purple Oil/Garth Walden  Ash Samadi (NSW)  E 1:25.8853 0:04.1091
18 Phenix Motorsport  Brenton Ramsay (SA)  E 1:26.1946 0:04.4184
19 Fujitsu Racing  Renee Gracie (QLD)  P 1:26.6669 0:04.8907
20 Hallmarc  Marc Cini (VIC)  E 1:26.7488 0:04.9726
21 Equity-One  Dean Koutsoumidis (VIC)  E 1:28.0610 0:06.2848
22 Adrian Mastronadro  Adrian Mastronardo  E 1:28.0813 0:06.3051
23 Finance EZI  Maurice Pickering (QLD)  E 1:28.2070 0:06.4308


CARRERA CUP: Adelaide – Practice #1

Pos Sponsor Driver Pro/Elite Time Gap
1  No Second Chance/Phase 8  Warren Luff (QLD)  P 1:22.7874*
2  Laser Plumbing & Electrical  Steven Richards (VIC)  P 1:23.2013  0:00.4139
3  Davbridge Constructions  Shae Davies (QLD)  P 1:23.2046  0:00.4172
4  AVCS  Sam Power (SA)  P 1:23.4389  0:00.6515
5  Bonaire/Wilson Security  Craig Baird (VIC)  P 1:23.7322  0:00.9448
6  Onsite Racing  Michael Patrizi (SA)  P 1:23.9284  0:01.1410
7  Sonic Motor Racing Services  Nick Foster (VIC)  P 1:24.1693  0:01.3819
8  Rentcorp  Duvashen Padayachee (SA)  P 1:24.2916  0:01.5042
9  Sonic Motor Racing Services  Nick McBride (VIC)  P 1:24.3326  0:01.5452
10  Copyworld  Michael Almond (SA)  P 1:24.5844  0:01.7970
11  Alternative Freight Services  Tony Bates (VIC)  E 1:25.4258  0:02.6384
12  McGrath Estate Agents  Shane Smollen (NSW)  E 1:25.4894  0:02.7020
13  JBS Swift  Roger Lago (QLD)  E 1:25.6958  0:02.9084
14  Porsche Brighton  James Bergmuller (VIC)  E 1:26.1751  0:03.3877
15  Objective Racing  Tony Walls (QLD)  E 1:26.4558  0:03.6684
16  Hallmarc  Marc Cini (VIC)  E 1:26.8368  0:04.0494
17  Fujitsu Racing  Renee Gracie (QLD)  P 1:27.3451  0:04.5577
18  Royal Purple Oil/Garth Walden  Ash Samadi (NSW)  E 1:27.4461  0:04.6587
19  Grove Group  Stephen Grove (VIC)  E 1:27.5097  0:04.7223
20  Phenix Motorsport  Brenton Ramsay (SA)  E 1:27.6756  0:04.8882
21  Finance EZI  Maurice Pickering (QLD)  E 1:28.8053  0:06.0179
22  Adrian Mastronadro  Adrian Mastronardo  E 1:32.6392  0:09.8518
23  Equity-One  Dean Koutsoumidis (VIC)  E 1:36.1874  0:13.400 comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!