Miedecke heads capacity Adelaide Ute field

George Miedecke's iSeek Holden

George Miedecke’s iSeek Holden

Dunlop Series refugee George Miedecke heads a capacity V8 Utes Racing Series entry list for this weekend’s season opener at Adelaide.

The series, set for its 14th year, has attracted a highly competitive 32 Ute field with two-time reigning series winner Ryal Harris back to defend his crown.

Harris will face stiff competition for the title with Miedecke returning to the V8 Utes in an iSeek/Wake Up backed Holden after two years in the Dunlop Series.

The second-generation racer competed full-time in the Utes between 2007 and 2009, finishing third in his most recent season.

He has since made a number of one-off appearances, including at last year’s Gold Coast 600.

Two-time former series winner Grant Johnson is also slated to return to full-time duties having been absent since mid-2012.

David Sieders, Nathan Pretty, Kris Walton and Rhys McNally all picked up race wins in 2013 and are also expected to challenge for the title.

With a capacity grid entered for the opening battle on the streets of Adelaide, Harris is eager to kick off his campaign on the front foot.

“The past two championship years we haven’t had the best run at Clipsal but I’m hoping it will all change this year,” said Harris.

“I’d love to start off the year on podium but it hasn’t deterred me from winning the championship in the past but then again, no-one ever likes to lose,” said Harris.

Among the young hopefuls hoping to score breakthrough results this year will be second-year Ute drivers Adam Marjoram (Erebus Academy) and Jesse Dixon (Image Racing).

Additionally, the Clipsal home crowd will have plenty of drivers to get behind with South Australians Craig Dontas, Noel Edge, Graham Stewart and Adrian Cottrell hoping to shine on home turf.

Cotrell, the 2012 Aussie Racing Car Series winner, will be making his V8 Ute debut at the event.

See below for the full V8 Ute entry list

Number Sponsor Driver Car
1 All Purpose Pest Racing Ryal Harris Ford FG
2 Australian Conveyor Racing Noel Edge Ford FG
3 Williams Race Tech Graham Stewart Holden VE
4 Forgiven Racing Peter Burnitt Ford FG
5 Auto One Racing Adam Marjoram Holden VE
6 Multispares Ryan Hansford Holden VE
8 Mine Site Fencing Australia David Sieders Ford FG
9 Jesus Racing Team Andrew Fisher Ford FG
10 Interior Logistics Gary MacDonald Ford FG
11 Fuchs / Hustler Mowers Jack Elsegood Ford FG
13 Bacardi OakHeart Wayne Wakefield Ford FG
17 Wallerawang Engineering Philip Woodbury Ford FG
21 General Carrying Racing Matthew Nolan Ford FG
22 Thirsty Camel Bottleshops Craig Dontas Holden VE
25 Go Karting Gold Coast Cam Wilson Ford FG
26 STRATCO Racing Rhys McNally Holden VE
27 Bob Jane T-Marts/Altenzo Tyres Kim Jane Holden VE
41 Battery World John Wood Holden VE
42 Active Asphalt/Star Electrical Adrian Cottrell Holden VE
43 Action Line Marking Layton Barker Holden VE
44 Williams Race Tech Jordan Skinner Holden VE
47 TBA Grant Johnson Holden VE
49 Hayman Reese Racing Jesse Dixon Holden VE
50 Macmahon Mining Gerard McLeod Holden VE
55 George Elliot Racing George Elliot Holden VE
56 CQ Group Australia Nathan Pretty Holden VE
57 Just Car Insurance Elliot Barbour Holden VE
67 JMG Racing Jeremy Gray Ford FG
68 Rentco Transport Equipment Rentals Kris Walton Ford FG
72 Western General Body Works Danny Buzadzic Ford FG
88 iSeek Racing/Wake Up George Miedecke Holden VE
99 Valvoline SYN POWER Ben Dunn Ford FG

Comments are closed.