Carrera Cup confirms 23 car Adelaide grid

Twenty-three of the new Carrera Cup cars will hit the track in Adelaide

Twenty-three of the new Carrera Cup cars will hit the track in Adelaide

The Carrera Cup Australia’s first season with Porsche’s new Type 991 will get underway with a 23 car grid in Adelaide.

Porsche Cars Australia has confirmed the full entry list, which is bigger than that seen at any round last year.

As previously reported, the Pro Class is headlined by the return of four-time and reigning champion Craig Baird.

Fellow experienced hands Warren Luff, Steven Richards and Michael Patrizi return to the series, as do second year drivers Shae Davies, Duvashen Padayachee and Renee Gracie.

Nick Foster is back following a season in Formula 3, while the top category is completed by Foster’s Sonic Motor Racing Services team-mate Nick McBride and GT3 Cup Challenge graduate Michael Almond.

The list of 12 Elite (amateur) Class entries that fill out the field includes Australian GT convert Roger Lago.

“We’re delighted to come into the 10th season of Carrera Cup with such a strong field,” said PCA motorsport manager Cameron McConville.

“Having 23 brand new race cars on the grid at the Clipsal 500 is a huge success for the championship and a fitting way to celebrate this significant milestone.

“We also have a tremendous group of teams and drivers who have committed to the season. There are 13 drivers who have returned to the category from last year, while we welcome 10 drivers who are either new to Carrera Cup or return after a previous stint in the series.

“The importance of an even mix of Professional Class and Elite Class drivers is again not lost on the championship with a close-to 50/50 split between the two classes.”

See below for the full entry list

Class # Sponsor Team Driver
Pro 1 Bonaire / Wilson Security Porsche Centre Melbourne Craig Baird
Elite 4 Grove Group Grove Racing Stephen Grove
Elite 5 Objective Racing McElrea Racing Tony Walls
Pro 7 No Second Chance/Phase 8 McElrea Racing Warren Luff
Elite 9 Hallmarc Porsche Centre Melbourne Marc Cini
Elite 10 Finance EZI MWP Racing Maurice Pickering
Elite 11 Royal Purple Oil Garth Walden Racing Ash Samadi
Pro 12 Laser Plumbing & Electrical SR Motorsport Steven Richards
Elite 13 Porsche Centre Brighton SR Motorsport James Bergmuller
Elite 22 Phenix Motorsport Phenix Motorsport Brenton Ramsay
Elite 23 JBS Swift Lago Racing Roger Lago
Elite 24 Alternative Freight Services Tony Bates Racing Tony Bates
Pro 26 Copyworld Buik Motorworks Michael Almond
Pro 27 AVCS Team BRM Sam Power
Pro 29 Onsite Racing Team BRM Michael Patrizi
Elite 39 TBC Sonic Motor Racing Services Adrian Mastronardo
Pro 45 Rentcorp Team BRM Duvashen Padayachee
Pro 55 Fujitsu/Dirt Devil McElrea Racing Renee Gracie
Elite 56 McGrath Estate Agents Autohaus Hamilton Shane Smollen
Elite 71 Equity-One Equity-One Motorsport Dean Koutsoumidis
Pro 77 Sonic Motor Racing Services Sonic Motor Racing Services Nick McBride
Pro 88 Davbridge Constructions McElrea Racing Shae Davies
Pro 777 Sonic Motor Racing Services Sonic Motor Racing Services Nick Foster

See below for Porsche Cars Australia’s Clipsal 500 event preview video

Comments are closed.