Coulthard fastest as Sydney test ends

Fabian Couthard ended the day with the fastest time

Fabian Couthard ended the day with the fastest time

Fabian Coulthard set the fastest time at Sydney Motorsport Park at the end of a pre-season test day dominated by mixed weather conditions.

The Lockwood Holden recorded a best of 1:30.48s on his 36th lap of a largely dry afternoon before increased drizzle spelt the end of fast times.

Nissan pair Todd and Rick Kelly were second and third respectively ahead of Craig Lowndes, James Courtney, Shane van Gisbergen, Jason Bright, Michael Caruso, Dale Wood and James Moffat.

As usual, tyre condition and compound choice played a large role in the final order, with the eventual top runners having elected to use the softer option.

The afternoon’s session ran green for its duration, leaving an off from Craig Lowndes during the mid-morning as the day’s only stoppage.

The morning had started in heavily wet conditions, ensuring the early running was undertaken on grooved rubber.

Russell Ingall held the fastest time by the halfway point before ending the day in 13th.

Volvo drivers Robert Dahlgren and Scott McLaughlin ended the test 17th and 19th fastest respectively having completed a combined total of 174 laps.

The team’s only major issue centred on power steering, with the two cars billowing smoke almost simultaneously prior to the halfway break.

Craig Lowndes and Shane van Gisbergen suffered their own steering rack problems during the morning, while Dick Johnson Racing endured likewise in the afternoon.

Guest drivers Oliver Gavin (Walkinshaw Racing) and Alex Buncombe (Nissan Motorsport) both enthused over their laps despite the poor conditions.

Other non-primary drivers present included Steven Richards and Paul Dumbrell (Red Bull), Greg Murphy (Holden Racing Team), Andre Heimgartner (Dick Johnson Racing) and Tony D’Alberto, who sampled Tim Slade’s Walkinshaw entry ahead of a possible endurance drive with the team.

See below for the Session 2 result 

1 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 52 01:30.48
2 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 33 01:31.12
3 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 13 01:31.16
4 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 58 01:31.48
5 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 21 01:31.58
6 TEKNO Team VIP Petfoods Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 55 01:31.58
7 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 46 01:31.83
8 Norton Hornets Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 37 01:31.89
9 Team ADVAM / GB Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 40 01:31.89
10 Norton Hornets James Moffat Nissan Altima 22 01:31.91
11 Supercheap Auto Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 30 01:32.01
12 Walkinshaw Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 40 01:32.03
13 Repair Management Aust Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 26 01:32.11
14 Erebus Motorsport V8 Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG 32 01:32.11
15 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 36 01:32.17
16 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG 37 01:32.26
17 Valvoline Racing GRM Robert Dahlgren Volvo S60 42 01:32.26
18 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 21 01:32.36
19 Valvoline Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 36 01:32.38
20 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 43 01:32.42
21 Jeld-wen FPR Ford Jack Perkins Ford Falcon FG 35 01:32.53
22 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Ford Falcon FG 35 01:32.58
23 The Bottle-O FPR Ford David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 27 01:32.75
24 Wilson Security Racing Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG 36 01:32.89
25 Erebus Motorsport V8 Will Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 22 01:33.03


Comments are closed.