Di Grassi and Abt head Audi Sport Formula E entry

Lucas Di Grassi

Lucas Di Grassi

Factory Audi driver Lucas Di Grassi and GP2 racer Daniel Abt are the first driver pairing announced to compete in the FIA Formula E Championship.

Di Grassi and Abt will form the German Audi Abt Sportsline entry, who are the first of the 10 teams signed up to the all-new electric single seater series to confirm their driver line up.

The inaugural Formula E Championship contested over 10 rounds will begin on the streets of Beijing on September 13.

Former F1 driver Di Grassi, who drove for the Virgin F1 team in 2010 now Marussia, has been involved in the Formula E set-up since 2012 when he became the series’ official test driver.

The 29-year-old Brazilian will dovetail his Formula E commitments alongside an Audi works drive in the FIA World Endurance Championship, which includes the prestigious Le Mans 24 Hours.

Stan Sport is the only way to watch every round of the Formula E. Click here for all the action streaming ad-free, live and on demand.

“I’m delighted that Audi is giving me the opportunity to drive in sports car racing as well as in Formula E,” said Di Grassi who comes into the Audi LMP1 squad to replace the retired Allan McNish.

”I’ve been watching Abt Sportsline on track for a long time – a very professional and cool outfit. It’s great that it worked out. We’ve got ambitious plans.”

His first Formula E test with ABT is scheduled for June.

GP3 race winner Abt completes the line up with the 21-year electing to compete in GP2 while racing for his father’s Formula E squad.

“I was really thrilled with the ideas of Formula E from the very beginning and obviously even more about ABT Sportsline competing with a team of their own,” said Daniel Abt.

“That I’m part of the line-up in the inaugural season is both an honour and a huge challenge.”

While Audi Abt Sportsline have revealed their line-up, more than 20 high profile international drivers have declared their interest in joining the Formula E grid.

The list includes former F1 drivers; Christijan Albers, Jamie Alguersuari, Sebastien Bourdais, Sebastien Buemi, Karun Chandhok, Christian Klien, Narain Karthikeyan, Vitantonio Liuzzi, Takuma Sato and Bruno Senna.

Prospective FIA Formula E Championship Drivers
Christijan Albers (NED)
Jaime Alguersuari (ESP)
Marco Andretti (USA)
Sébastien Bourdais (FRA)
Alex Brundle (GBR)
Sebastien Buemi (CHE)
Karun Chandhok (IND)
Ben Collins (GBR)
Conor Daly (USA)
Robert Doornbos (NED)
J.R. Hildebrand Jr. (USA)
Ma Qing Hua (CHN)
Narain Karthikeyan (IND)
Christian Klien (AUT)
Katherine Legge (GBR)
Vitantonio Liuzzi (ITA)
Nicolas Minassian (FRA)
Franck Montagny (FRA)
Takuma Sato (JPN)
Bruno Senna (BRA)
Oriol Servia (ESP)
Adrien Tambay (FRA)

Comments are closed.