Engel edges Salo to Bathurst 12 Hour pole

Engel edged Salo for the pole

Engel edged Salo for the pole

Maro Engel and Erebus Motorsport have pipped Mika Salo and Maranello to the Allan Simonsen Pole Trophy.

A 2:03.86s lap from the German in the dying stages of the final 15 minute session was the only lap all day to better Salo’s morning benchmark.

The time, which is the quickest lap ever recorded by a closed-top car in an officially timed session at Bathurst, came despite track temperatures being significantly higher than that experienced during the morning.

“It’s awesome,” said Engel, who dedicated the result to Simonsen and Sean Edwards, both of whom were killed in GT cars last year.

“It’s a great start the to the weekend for all the boys.

“It’ll be a long day tomorrow. We’ll have to keep circulating, keep out of trouble and be there in the last hour.”

Engel had earlier had his penultimate lap ruined by the Craig Lowndes-driven Maranello Ferrari, which momentarily held up the German through The Dipper.

The #37 Quinn McLaren and #63 Erebus Mercedes will share the second row of the grid thanks to the efforts of Shane van Gisbergen and Will Davison in the final session.

Van Gisbergen set a best of 2:04.0006s before the MP412C stopped on the run up to The Cutting prior to the chequered flag.

A 2:05.3s lap from Peter Kox put the #23 JBS Lamborghini fourth in Q3 behind Engel, Van Gisbergen and Davison.

The car will start sixth on combined times thanks to David Russell’s 2:05.0s from Q2.

The inside of the third row will be taken by the #32 Nismo Nissan, which relies on its morning Q1 time.

See below for the top 20 qualifying positions

Pos Car Competitor/Team Drivers Vehicle Time
1 1 Erebus Motorsport B.Schneider/M.Engel/N.Bastian Mercedes SLS AMG GT3 2:03.8586
2 88 il Bello Rosso P.Edwards/J.Bowe/C.Lowndes/M.Salo Ferrari F458 Italia 2:03.9421
3 37 Darrell Lea T.Quinn/K.Quinn/A.Kirkaldy/S.van Gisbergen McLaren MP4 12C 2:04.0006
4 63 Erebus Motorsport W.Davison/J.Le Brocq/G.Crick Mercedes SLS AMG GT3 2:04.2563
5 32 NISMO Athlete Global Team R.Kelly/K.Chiyo/A.Buncombe/W.Reip Nissan GT-R NISMO GT 2:04.8228
6 23 JBS Swift R.Lago/D.Russell/P.Kox Lamborghini Gallardo 2:05.0320
7 9 Network Clothing / Hallmarc M.Cini/M.Eddy/C.Mies Audi R8 LMS Ultra 2:05.5919
8 3 Phoenix Racing R.Frey/R.Rast/L.Vanthoor Audi R8 LMS Ultra 2:05.5946
9 25 United Autosports M.Patterson/E.Lux/M.Winkelhock Audi R8 LMS Ultra 2:05.7175
10 48 M Motorsport J.McMillan/S.Richards/D.Wood/R.Lilley Lamborghini Gallardo 2:06.3498
11 84 HTP Motorsport H.Primat/T.Jaeger/M.Buhk Mercedes SLS AMG GT3 2:06.8470
12 33 Clearwater Racing W S Mok/C.Baird/M.Griffin/H.Hamaguchi Ferrari F458 Italia 2:07.2414
13 77 AF Corse S.Wyatt/M.Rugolo/M.Cioci Ferrari F458 Italia 2:07.5143
14 14 Oakley Motorsports O.Gavin/R.Huff/R.Meins/K.Gleason Audi R8 LMS 2:07.9990
15 71 Equity-One Mortgage Fund D.Koutsoumidis/D.Grant/D.Fiore/M.Loccisano Audi R8 LMS 2:08.4130
16 69 Superbarn Supermarkets Pty Ltd J.Koundouris/T.Koundouris/S.Owen/M.Twigg Porsche 911 GT3 Cup 2:08.7029
17 4 Grove Group S.Grove/E.Bamber/B.Barker Porsche 997 GT3 Cup 2:09.7907
18 12 Ice Break / Competition Motorsports D.Calvert-Jones/A.Davison/P.Long Porsche 997 GT3 Cup 2:10.2842
19 45 Rentcorp Hyundai Forklifts D.Padayache/R.Muscat/B.Mawer Porsche 997 GT3 Cup 2:11.6515
20 67 Motorsport Services J.Lowrey/T.Richards/J.Venter Porsche 997 GT3 Cup 2:14.7114

Comments are closed.