Peugeot joins Ford in FIA World Rallycross

Peugeot Sport Director ?? and Hansen Motorsport Team Manager Kenneth Hansen

Peugeot Sport Director Bruno Fmin and Hansen Motorsport Team Manager Kenneth Hansen

Peugeot has become the second manufacturer to commit to the all-new FIA World Rallycross Championship joining Ford for the 2014 season which kicks off in Portugal in May.

The factory team will be operated by Swedish outfit Hansen Motorsport with the French-Swedish combination an exciting prospect for Peugeot Sport Director, Bruno Famin.

“We naturally sought to strike up a relationship with one of the best teams in the business, namely Hansen Motorsport,” said Famin.

“Team Peugeot-Hansen is starting from scratch for this new championship, and we face a fascinating challenge with a calendar of 12 rounds across the world in some of the most strategically important markets for the brand.”

The highly regarded French marquee becomes the second manufacturer to join the exciting new FIA-run championship after Ford pledged its official backing to OlsbergsMSE’s World RX effort earlier this year.

Peugeot secured eight French drivers’ championship crowns between 1988 and 2012 and, over the decades, has yielded title glory in the FIA World Rally Championship, FIA World Sportscar Championship, Dakar Rally and the Le Mans 24 Hours.

The Team Peugeot-Hansen driver line-up is yet to be revealed.

2014 FIA World Rallycross Championship – Event Calendar:

RXRD1 // May 3-4 // Portugal // Montalegre
RXRD2 // May 24-25 // Great Britain // Lydden Hill *
RXRD3 // June 14-15 // Norway // Hell  *
RXRD4 // June 28-29 // Finland // Kouvola
RXRD5 // July 5-6 // Sweden // Holjes
RXRD6 // July 12-13 // Belgium // Mettet *
RXRD7 // August 7-8 // Canada // Trois-Rivières, Québec
RXRD8 // September 6-7 // France // Loheac
RXRD9 // September 20-21 // Germany // Estering *
RXRD10 // September 27-28 // Italy // Franciacorta *
RXRD11 // October 11-12 // Turkey // Istanbul Park
RXRD12 // November 22-23 // Argentina // Cordoba/Missones

*Competitions counting toward the FIA European Rallycross Championship



Comments are closed.