Marquez quickest again at Sepang test

Marc Marquez out front again in Sepang test

Marc Marquez out front again in Sepang test

World MotoGP champion Marc Marquez has continued to dominate pre-season testing backing-up his fastest time on the opening day at Sepang in Malaysia with the quickest time on the second day of running.

While the Repsol Honda Team rider grabbed most of the attention, plenty of praise was also given to NGM Mobile Forward Racing’s Aleix Espargaro who put an Open specification bike inside the top five for the first time.

The World Champion smashed through the two-minute barrier shortly before his lunch break, after which there were substantially less changes in lap times. The one target still to hit is Casey Stoner’s 2012 pre-season time of 1’59.607.

With Repsol Honda team-mate Dani Pedrosa in second, marginally ahead of Stefan Bradl (LCR Honda MotoGP) with Valentino Rossi fourth for Yamaha Factory Racing machine.

Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha Factory Racing) was sixth; the former double title winner working to improve handling issues he encountered on Day 1 as a result of setup changes made in a bid to improve fuel consumption. The 2014 the Factory Option bikes are limited by a further litre of fuel to just 20 across a race distance.

Today will mark the third and final day of this week’s Sepang test.

See below for day 2 test results at Sepang

Position Rider             Bike                 Time Laps
1 Marc Marquez Honda 1m59.926s 65
2 Dani Pedrosa Honda +0.410s 62
3 Stefan Bradl LCR Honda +0.413s 52
4 Valentino Rossi Yamaha +0.538s 61
5 Aleix Espargaro Forward FTR-Yamaha +0.621s 42
6 Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha +0.647s 49
7 Bradley Smith Tech 3 Yamaha +0.677s 66
8 Andrea Iannone Pramac Ducati +0.929s 49
9 Alvaro Bautista Gresini Honda +0.971s 55
10 Pol Espargaro Tech 3 Yamaha +1.135s 49
11 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati +1.220s 45
12 Cal Crutchlow Ducati +1.470s 48
13 Michele Pirro Ducati +2.251s 56
14 Nicky Hayden Aspar Honda +2.361s 58
15 Colin Edwards Forward FTR-Yamaha +2.619s 35
16 Yonny Hernandez Pramac Ducati +2.749s 45
17 Kosuke Akiyoshi Honda +2.766s 68
18 Hiroshi Aoyama Aspar Honda +2.899s 66
19 Katsuyuki Nakasuga Yamaha +3.044s 56
20 Randy de Puniet Suzuki +3.138s 96
21 Scott Redding Gresini Honda +3.191s 53
22 Michael Laverty PBM Aprilia +3.602s 41
23 Hector Barbera Avintia-FTR Kawasaki +4.625s 37
24 Broc Parkes PBM Aprilia +4.693s 43
25 Karel Abraham Cardion Honda +5.335s 32
26 Mike di Meglio Avintia-FTR Kawasaki +5.429s 34


Comments are closed.