Marquez quickest at opening MotoGP test

Marc Marquez sets the pace in Sepang testing

Marc Marquez sets the pace in Sepang testing

Marc Marquez has wasted no time in establishing his pace by setting the fastest time on the opening day of an official MotoGP test at the Sepang circuit.

The Spaniard capitalised as track temperatures dropped late in the session, posting the top time for the day of 2:00.286s, .5s quicker than Valentino Rossi who improved in the closing stages of the run.

Marquez’s Honda team-mate Dani Pedrosa was third with Jorge Lorenzo fourth ahead of Alvaro Bautista fifth with another Honda rider Stefan Bradl, sixth.

The RC213V Hondas of Marquez and Pedrosa are running with larger air intakes in 2014 which has improved topline speeds and assisted in corner exit throttle response.

Champion rider Rossi is working with his new crew chief Silvano Galbusera after the departure of the celebrated Aussie Jeremy Burgess.

See below for full Sepang test results

1 Marc Marquez Repsol Honda Team 2:00.286
2 Valentino Rossi Yamaha Factory Racing 2:00.804
3 Dani Pedrosa Repsol Honda Team 2:00.906
4 Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha Factory Racing 2:01.082
5 Alvaro Bautista GO&FUN Honda Gresini 2:01.240
6 Stefan Bradl LCR Honda MotoGP 2:01.320
7 Aleix Espargaro NGM Mobile Forward Racing 2:01.419
8 Andrea Iannone Pramac Racing 2:01.538
9 Pol Espargaro Monster Yamaha Tech 3 2:01.634
10 Bradley Smith Monster Yamaha Tech 3 2:01.876
11 Colin Edwards NGM Mobile Forward Racing 2:02.483
12 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati Team 2:02.497
13 Michele Pirro Ducati Test Team 2:02.552
14 Cal Crutchlow Ducati Team 2:02.860
15 Yonny Hernandez Energy T.I. Pramac Racing 2:02.891
16 Katsuyuki Nakasuga Yamaha Factory Test Team 2:03.126
17 Nicky Hayden Drive M7 Aspar 2:03.319
18 Hiroshi Aoyama Drive M7 Aspar 2:03.328
19 Randy De Puniet Suzuki Test Team 2:03.893
20 Kosuke Akiyoski HRC Test Team 2:04.267
21 Scott Redding GO&FUN Honda Gresini 2:04.431
22 Hector Barbera Avintia Racing 2:04.922
23 Mike Di Meglio Avintia Racing 2:05.825
24 Broc Parkes Paul Bird Motorport 2:05.889
25 Michael Laverty Paul Bird Motorsport 2:06.070
26 Karel Abraham Cardion AB Motoracing 2:06.755


Comments are closed.