Three day Classic welcomed by Sprintcar stars

Sunday 26th January, 2014 - 3:54pm


The 3 day format at the Classic has been welcomed by fans and drivers alike

The 3 day format at the Classic has been welcomed by fans and drivers alike

Premier Speedway’s decision to expand the Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic to a three day event has been given a huge tick of approval from some of the biggest names in the sport.

Massive crowds have supported the first split qualifying format, and with brilliant weather in Warrnambool, a capacity crowd is expected ahead of tonight’s Australia Day finale.

The glowing praise towards the Classic has been led by the record 21 strong American field here this weekend.

“The Classic is without a doubt in the best 3 Sprintcar races in the world,” Outlaws veteran Terry McCarl said.

“It’s phenomenal, just like the Knoxville Nationals with the support we get, and the huge crowds.”

McCarl pointed to the interaction the event has with the fans, from Friday’s Classic breakfast, to yesterday’s Fan Appreciation Day, and this morning’s Jeff Gordon Foundation kickball game which featured all of the biggest drivers and many thousands of supporters.

The three night format has been crucial for the events future, and also pivotal for the return of defending World of Outlaws champion Daryn Pittman.

“The event had just outgrown two days,” Pittman said.

“You can’t qualify 100 cars and then run two sets of heats and give everyone a fair shot at qualifying or having a fair shot at a good race track.”

“I think it’s the best move they could have done to keep the events prestige and help grow the event.”

The most popular driver at Premier Speedway, Max Dumesny, has also thrown his support behind the new look Classic.

“l’m loving the format,” Max said in his first trip to Warrnambool this summer.

“l loved coming out to the track on Friday to check everyone else run and just sit back and enjoy it.”

“lt has the feel of Knoxville, it’s an amazing atmosphere.”

Australian champion James McFadden heads into tonight’s finale as the points leader after his night one heroics. He has a narrow lead over Luke Dillon, Tim Kaeding, Dumesny, night two winner Jamie Veal, Donny Schatz, Paul McMahan, Trevor Green, Jason Meyers and Kyle Hirst.

Another round of heats await, before multiple D, C and B mains ahead of the $30,000 to win, 40 lap Classic final, which now rightfully remains as the greatest prize in Australian Sprintcar racing. comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!