Lowndes awarded fourth Barry Sheene Medal

Craig Lowndes

Craig Lowndes

Craig Lowndes has again been recognised as V8 Supercars’ ‘best and fairest’, picking up a fourth Barry Sheene Medal at the category’s Gala Awards.

The medal winner is voted on by a selection of the category’s media, who judge the 28 drivers on a number of attributes including personality, leadership as well as media and fan appeal.

Lowndes previously won the medal in 2005, 2006 and 2011, while other recipients since its inception 11 seasons ago consist of Marcos Ambrose, Jamie Whincup, Will Davison, James Courtney and Mark Winterbottom.

In an unsurprising result, the popular driver secured a double by also being awarded the newly established Fan Favourite gong.

Held at The Star complex in Sydney’s Darling Harbour, the Awards night saw Whincup presented with his V8 Supercars Championship trophy.

Fujitsu GRM’s Scott McLaughlin took out the Mike Kable Rookie of the Year after a brilliant debut V8 Supercars Championship season that included two race victories.

In one of the most emotive moments in the history of the awards, the late Jason Richards became the latest inductee into the Hall Of Fame.

The Best Volunteer Group was handed to those working at the Sargent Security Phillip Island 360 last month.

The evening followed Friday night’s second annual V8 Media Awards function, which was highlighted by the induction of three new members into the V8 Media Hall of Fame.

Pioneering motoring and motorsports writers Mike Kable and Bill Tuckey and long-time domestic and international motorsport scribe Mark Fogarty were all recognised for their contribution to the craft.

Fogarty was also voted by his peers as the Journalist of the Year, with Speedcafe.com’s Stefan Bartholomaeus finishing runner-up.

The night saw several speakers, including V8 Supercars Chaplin Gary Coleman, pay tribute to last year’s Hall of Fame inductee Jon Evans, who died earlier this month after a long illness.

Comments are closed.