Whincup secures title as Van Gisbergen wins

Jamie Whincup celebrates his fifth title

Jamie Whincup celebrates his fifth title

Jamie Whincup took out a record equalling fifth V8 Supercars Championship title after an aggressive drive to third in the final race of the season in Sydney.

Pole-sitter Shane van Gisbergen was the pace-setter from the outset and managed to win the race despite a mid-race Safety Car throwing a fuel strategy curve ball.

Jason Bright finished second ahead of Whincup with David Reynolds, Craig Lowndes, Mark Winterbottom, Will Davison, Alex Davison, Chaz Mostert and Russell Ingall completing the top 10.

Whincup now joins legends Ian Geoghegan, Dick Johnson and Mark Skaife with five Australian Touring Car Championship/V8 Supercars Championship victories.

Despite needing just a 21st place finish even if his only rival Lowndes won, Whincup proved willing to swap paint with his rivals throughout the race.

The most intense moment occurred when Whincup attempted to follow Van Gisbergen through on Bright with just 10 laps to go.

The Red Bull and Team BOC Holdens made side-to-side contact at the final corner, but both survived without damage.

Van Gisbergen and Bright had run first and third in the opening stages, eventually completing long stints before taking the first of their two compulsory pitstops.

A Lap 33 Safety Car for James Moffat’s stranded Nissan then brought the majority of the field to pitlane for their second stops earlier than scheduled.

It soon became apparent upon the restart that all who used the Safety Car, expect Bright, would make a third stop for fuel.

Van Gisbergen meanwhile had elected against pitting under the yellow and blasted away at the restart before pitting for the final time with 22 laps to go.

He shook out of the cycle in fourth before using his fresher tyres to cut his way through Whincup, Reynolds and eventually Bright, who was low on fuel at the end but not forced to conserve.

Whincup was in the thick of the action throughout having earlier rubbed panels with Winterbottom on the back straight following a daring pass on the FPR Falcon in the second stint.

Winterbottom would eventually lose third in the standings to team-mate Will Davison after the latter overtook his brother Alex for seventh on the final lap.

Tim Slade rounded out his four-year stint with Erebus/SBR as the top Mercedes in 11th, while Todd Kelly led the Nissans home in a dismal 17th.

Michael Caruso had run inside the top 10 for the majority of the race before a trip down the Turn 11 escape road cost valuable positions.

Mechanical troubles took care of Moffat, Garth Tander and Scott Pye, while a brake failure for Tim Blanchard saw him drill the back of Fiore at Turn 1; causing the second Safety Car.

Van Gisbergen’s win saw him overtake compatriot Fabian Coulthard for fifth in the final points standings, albeit nearly 600 points adrift of Whincup.

See below for full Race 36 results

1 TEKNO Team VIP Petfoods Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 01:58:09.0326 1:28.9264*
2 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 01:58:10.9791 1:29.3844
3 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 01:58:11.5448 1:29.0442
4 The Bottle-O FPR Ford David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 01:58:11.8647 1:29.4941
5 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 01:58:12.7101 1:29.7272
6 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 01:58:13.2561 1:29.3241
7 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 01:58:16.4184 1:29.6062
8 Jeld-wen FPR Ford Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 01:58:17.2760 1:29.9332
9 Wilson Security Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG 01:58:17.4617 1:29.7985
10 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 01:58:17.9408 1:29.5439
11 Heavy Haulage Australia Racing Tim Slade Mercedes E63 AMG 01:58:18.5194 1:29.7404
12 Fujitsu Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Holden Commodore VF 01:58:20.9788 1:29.4469
13 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG 01:58:22.1834 1:29.9423
14 Team HIFLEX Tony D’Alberto Holden Commodore VF 01:58:25.5051 1:29.9346
15 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 01:58:26.0691 1:29.9266
16 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VF 01:58:27.8577 1:29.9085
17 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 01:58:28.4341 1:29.9688
18 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 01:58:29.4532 1:29.6886
19 Norton Hornets Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 01:58:33.6943 1:29.6933
20 SP Tools Racing Maro Engel Mercedes E63 AMG 01:58:41.5831 1:30.4466
21 Dodo Insurance Racing Dean Fiore Holden Commodore VF 01:59:23.0910 1:30.1368
22 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VF 01:58:39.7335 1:30.2876
23 TEKNO Team Darrell Lea Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VF 01:59:37.7700 1:29.9186
24 Holden Racing Team Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 01:58:50.1405 1:29.9464
DNF ekol Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore VF 01:34:37.4424 1:29.8763
DNF Wilson Security Racing Tim Blanchard Ford Falcon FG 01:24:39.4981 1:29.7392
DNF Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 01:03:31.3853 1:29.7009
DNF Norton Hornets James Moffat Nissan Altima    46:26.9110 1:30.3758

See below for the championship standings

1 Jamie Whincup 3094
2 Craig Lowndes 2966
3 Will Davison 2799
4 Mark Winterbottom 2793
5 Shane Van Gisbergen 2508
6 Fabian Coulthard 2501
7 Jason Bright 2381
8 Garth Tander 2322
9 David Reynolds 2058
10 Scott McLaughlin 1934
11 James Courtney 1909
12 Jonathon Webb 1901
13 Alex Davison 1812
14 Rick Kelly 1754
15 Russell Ingall 1556
16 Tony D’Alberto 1526
17 Chaz Mostert 1520
18 James Moffat 1448
19 Alexandre Premat 1376
20 Lee Holdsworth 1361
21 David Wall 1346
22 Tim Slade 1298
23 Michael Caruso 1233
24 Dean Fiore 1211
25 Todd Kelly 1139
26 Tim Blanchard 1080
27 Scott Pye 1049
28 Maro Engel 836


Comments are closed.