Lowndes takes points lead with Gold Coast win

Craig Lowndes takes the chequered flag to win Race 30

Craig Lowndes takes the chequered flag to win Race 30

Craig Lowndes has taken the V8 Supercars Championship lead after combining with Warren Luff to win Race 30 at Surfers Paradise.

The result came despite an early puncture for Luff that forced the #888 Red Bull Holden into an unscheduled pitstop.

Early Safety Cars contributed to a complex strategic battle that did not shake out until Lowndes took the lead for good with less than 20 laps remaining.

Shane van Gisbergen and Jeroen Bleekemolen finished second. The Kiwi had led Lowndes ahead of their final stops, but lost track position with a longer fuel fill required.

Mark Winterbottom and Steven Richards completed the podium, with the former holding off a charging Tony D’Alberto in the closing laps.

Winterbottom’s final stop had come earlier than planned after a loose window yielded a mechanical black flag.

Russell Ingall continued his strong street circuit form this season by finishing fifth alongside Ryan Briscoe after steering clear of trouble during a frantic race.

Race 30 was a disaster for erstwhile points leader Jamie Whincup, who watched on as co-driver Paul Dumbrell tangled with Greg Murphy in the early stages.

The contact put Murphy into the wall at the beachside chicane and immediately out of the race, while Dumbrell pulled his crumpled car over a short time later with a driveline failure.

Fabian Coulthard was another hard luck story having appeared set for a podium finish until a heavy kerb strike broke the right-front corner of the Brad Jones Racing Holden with less than 20 laps remaining.

All four Nissans ran strongly at the mid-point of the race, but an 11th for Rick Kelly/Karl Reindler would prove the team’s best result.

Michael Caruso’s Altima retired just after halfway following front-end damage caused by the circuit’s aggressive kerbs, while James Moffat pulled off with less than five to go with an engine failure while running ninth.

Others to strike trouble included McLaughlin/Perkins (electrical), Engel/Johnson (broken damper), A.Davison/McIntyre (contact between Alex and brother Will), Blanchard/Walsh (clutch) and Tander/Percat.

Tander and Percat had one of the fastest cars for the majority of the race, but lost two laps after the car stalled at its penultimate pitstop and failed to restart.

A second 300km leg will complete the Armor All Gold Coast 600 on Sunday.

See below for the full Race 30 result

1 Red Bull Racing Australia C.Lowndes/W.Luff Holden Commodore VF 102 02:12:10.61
2 TEKNO Team VIP Petfoods S.Van Gisbergen/J.Bleekemolen Holden Commodore VF 102 02:12:19.32
3 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford M.Winterbottom/S.Richards Ford Falcon FG 102 02:12:23.33
4 Team HIFLEX T.D’Alberto/J.Reid Holden Commodore VF 102 02:12:23.70
5 Supercheap Auto Racing R.Ingall/R.Briscoe Holden Commodore VF 102 02:12:28.85
6 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford W.Davison/S.Owen Ford Falcon FG 102 02:12:36.72
7 Wilson Security Racing D.Wall/C.Pither Holden Commodore VF 102 02:12:42.72
8 The Bottle-O FPR Ford D.Reynolds/D.Canto Ford Falcon FG 102 02:12:44.09
9 Wilson Security Racing C.Mostert/D.Wood Ford Falcon FG 102 02:12:45.84
10 TEKNO Team Darrell Lea J.Webb/M.Lieb Holden Commodore VF 102 02:12:46.14
11 Jack Daniel’s Racing R.Kelly/K.Reindler Nissan Altima 102 02:12:46.57
12 Irwin Racing L.Holdsworth/C.Baird Mercedes E63 AMG 102 02:12:48.72
13 Hogs Breath Cafe Racing S.Pye/P.Morris Holden Commodore VF 102 02:13:02.57
14 Fujitsu Racing GRM A.Premat/G.Ritter Holden Commodore VF 102 02:13:05.02
15 Heavy Haulage Australia Racing T.Slade/D.Brabham Mercedes E63 AMG 102 02:13:05.63
16 Dodo Insurance Racing D.Fiore/M.Halliday Holden Commodore VF 101 02:12:12.07
17 Jack Daniel’s Racing T.Kelly/D.Russell Nissan Altima 101 02:12:14.40
18 Holden Racing Team G.Tander/N.Percat Holden Commodore VF 99 02:12:28.35
19 Wilson Security Racing T.Blanchard/A.Walsh Ford Falcon FG 97 02:12:22.12
20 Jeld-wen FPR Ford A.Davison/J.McIntyre Ford Falcon FG 97 02:12:48.45
21 SP Tools Racing M.Engel/S.Johnson Mercedes E63 AMG 96 02:12:30.63
22 Fujitsu Racing GRM S.McLaughlin/J.Perkins Holden Commodore VF 92 02:13:04.37
DNF Norton Hornets J.Moffat/T.Douglas Nissan Altima 97 02:06:43.47
DNF Lockwood Racing F.Coulthard/L.Youlden Holden Commodore VF 83 01:50:07.03
DNF Norton Hornets M.Caruso/D.Gaunt Nissan Altima 60 01:22:14.26
DNF Red Bull Racing Australia Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VF 21 28:45.00
DNF Holden Racing Team Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VF 18 26:26.14

See below for the updated points after Race 30 (Top 28 only)

1 Craig Lowndes 2459
2 Jamie Whincup 2423
3 Mark Winterbottom 2410
4 Will Davison 2344
5 Shane Van Gisbergen 2052
6 Fabian Coulthard 2015
7 Garth Tander 1971
8 Jason Bright 1937
9 James Courtney 1909
10 Scott McLaughlin 1817
11 Jonathon Webb 1605
12 David Reynolds 1588
13 Rick Kelly 1383
14 Alex Davison 1377
15 James Moffat 1311
16 Tony D’Alberto 1273
17 Russell Ingall 1226
18 Alexandre Premat 1190
19 Chaz Mostert 1186
20 Lee Holdsworth 1070
21 David Wall 1055
22 Tim Slade 1019
23 Dean Fiore 979
24 Michael Caruso 959
25 Scott Pye 919
26 Todd Kelly 887
27 Tim Blanchard 871
28 Maro Engel 768


Comments are closed.