Davison/Owen score Sandown 500 pole

Will Davison

Will Davison

Will Davison drove to a commanding victory in the second qualifying race to secure pole position for the Sandown 500.

Starting second thanks to the efforts of co-driver Steve Owen in the opening 60km heat, Davison beat pole man Jamie Whincup to the first corner before driving away to chalk up a near six second win.

Davison, who suffered a disastrous run at Sandown last year, also re-set the lap record in the closing stages.

Whincup led home team-mate Craig Lowndes in second and third respectively after a largely pedestrian race at the front.

Mark Winterbottom provided most of the entertainment, working away at the back of Chaz Mostert before eventually passing the Dick Johnson Racing entry for fourth with two laps remaining.

David Reynolds ensured a sweep of FPR and Triple Eight equipment in the top six.

James Courtney was thebest of the rest having driven his Holden Racing Team Commodore from 10th on the grid to seventh.

The 20 laps went significantly less well for team-mate Garth Tander, who dropped from fourth to 16th with a botched start before taking the flag in 13th.

Todd Kelly gave Nissan hope by dodging some robust mid-pack battles on his way from 15th to 10th.

Two of his Nissan team-mates, Rick Kelly and Michael Caruso, had earlier been on the inside of a four-wide squeeze at Turn 1 that saw both Maro Engel and Dean Fiore turned around.

Alex Davison was forced to the pits after taking damage in the melee, leaving the Jeld-Wen Ford to share the back row of the grid with Fiore.

See below for the Qualifying Race 2 result, which doubles as the grid for the 500 

1 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 23:19.22 01:09.41
2 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 23:24.87 01:09.78
3 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 23:25.43 01:09.66
4 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 23:27.75 01:09.63
5 Wilson Security Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG 23:28.25 01:09.69
6 The Bottle-O FPR Ford David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 23:28.54 01:09.83
7 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 23:29.08 01:09.68
8 Heavy Haulage Australia Racing Tim Slade Mercedes E63 AMG 23:29.45 01:09.79
9 Fujitsu Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Holden Commodore VF 23:34.12 01:09.95
10 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 23:36.29 01:10.08
11 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 23:36.86 01:10.06
12 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VF 23:37.59 01:09.98
13 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 23:37.89 01:09.98
14 TEKNO Team VIP Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 23:38.47 01:09.64
15 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 23:42.49 01:09.94
16 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 23:48.06 01:10.38
17 Team HIFLEX Tony D’Alberto Holden Commodore VF 23:48.31 01:10.20
18 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VF 23:49.03 01:10.50
19 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG 23:49.83 01:10.45
20 Norton 360 Racing James Moffat Nissan Altima 23:50.96 01:10.37
21 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 23:51.33 01:10.35
22 Wilson Security Racing Tim Blanchard Ford Falcon FG 23:51.72 01:10.48
23 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VF 23:53.09 01:10.19
24 Norton 360 Racing Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 23:53.20 01:10.38
25 SP Tools Racing Maro Engel Mercedes E63 AMG 23:53.31 01:10.29
26 ekol Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore VF 24:02.40 01:10.43
27 Jeld-wen FPR Ford Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 23:56.52 01:10.28
DNF Dodo Insurance Racing Dean Fiore Holden Commodore VF


Comments are closed.