Slade makes a statement in Practice 1

Tim Slade heads onto the Sandown circuit

Tim Slade heads onto the Sandown circuit

Just an hour after his impending departure from Erebus Motorsport was officially announced, Tim Slade set the fastest time in Practice 1 at Sandown.

Underlining the team’s hope that the HHA Mercedes can be a force over the remaining events, Slade moved to the top of the order with six of the 40 minutes remaining, clocking a 1:10.06s lap.

Slade immediately handed over to co-driver Andrew Thompson after setting the time, with the former Dunlop Series winner one of many part-timers to step in just prior to the chequered flag.

David Reynolds had been fastest ahead of Slade’s effort.

The Bottle-O Falcon remained second until the end ahead of Craig Lowndes/Warren Luff and the second Mercedes of Lee Holdsworth/Craig Baird.

Jamie Whincup had been among the early pace-setters in his new Red Bull Holden, although fell to 13th by the end of the session as the team chased set-up.

A total of 17 co-drivers took to the track. Among them were¬†Shane van Gisbergen’s Dutch import Jeroen Bleekemolen, whose 10 lap run to end the session yielded a best of 1:12.2s.

Fellow internationally-based drivers Marc Lieb and Ryan Briscoe will have to wait until the co-driver only second practice, scheduled to kick off at 1255 local time, in order to have their first drives of the Jonathon Webb and Russell Ingall Holdens respectively.

See below for the full Practice 1 result 

1 T.Slade/A.Thompson Mercedes E63 AMG 01:10.05
2 D.Reynolds/D.Canto Ford Falcon FG 01:10.13 00:00.08
3 Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 01:10.13 00:00.08
4 Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG 01:10.15 00:00.10
5 M.Winterbottom/S.Richards Ford Falcon FG 01:10.17 00:00.11
6 S.McLaughlin/J.Perkins Holden Commodore VF 01:10.25 00:00.20
7 J.Bright/A.Jones Holden Commodore VF 01:10.43 00:00.38
8 F.Coulthard/L.Youlden Holden Commodore VF 01:10.44 00:00.38
9 A.Premat/G.Ritter Holden Commodore VF 01:10.44 00:00.39
10 Tony D’Alberto Holden Commodore VF 01:10.45 00:00.39
11 Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 01:10.50 00:00.45
12 J.Courtney/G.Murphy Holden Commodore VF 01:10.56 00:00.51
13 Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 01:10.58 00:00.53
14 C.Mostert/D.Wood Ford Falcon FG 01:10.61 00:00.56
15 Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 01:10.63 00:00.58
16 G.Tander/N.Percat Holden Commodore VF 01:10.72 00:00.67
17 S.Van Gisbergen/J.Bleekemolen Holden Commodore VF 01:10.73 00:00.68
18 A.Davison/J.McIntyre Ford Falcon FG 01:10.75 00:00.69
19 S.Pye/P.Morris Holden Commodore VF 01:10.76 00:00.71
20 Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 01:10.76 00:00.71
21 D.Wall/C.Pither Holden Commodore VF 01:10.80 00:00.75
22 T.Kelly/D.Russell Nissan Altima 01:10.87 00:00.82
23 T.Blanchard/A.Walsh Ford Falcon FG 01:10.96 00:00.91
24 Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VF 01:11.10 00:01.05
25 James Moffat Nissan Altima 01:11.13 00:01.08
26 Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 01:11.20 00:01.15
27 D.Fiore/M.Halliday Holden Commodore VF 01:11.22 00:01.17
28 Maro Engel Mercedes E63 AMG 01:11.23 00:01.18


Comments are closed.