Perkins fastest as team-mates collide in Practice 2

Murphy spins into Briscoe at Turn 1

Murphy spins into Briscoe at Turn 1. pic: Mark Walker

Fujitsu GRM’s Jack Perkins proved quickest in the co-drivers only second practice session ahead of Sunday’s Sandown 500.

The Dunlop Series race winner became the first driver of the weekend to dip into the 1:09s in the closing stages of the 40 minute hit-out.

Perkins, who is teamed with Scott McLaughlin for the Pirtek Enduro Cup, bumped Steven Johnson from the top of the order by clocking quick times on his final two tours.

Steve Owen also joined Perkins in the 1:09s, while Johnson and Andrew Thompson ensured a repeat of Erebus’ morning effort of having two Mercedes entries in the top four.

Walkinshaw Racing stable-mates Greg Murphy and Ryan Briscoe ensured some excitement early in the session, with Murphy spinning into the rear of the latter’s Holden at Turn 1.

Briscoe, who had not appeared in the opening session, spent almost 30 minutes in the garage while the team made repairs.

Jack Perkins set the fastest two times of the session

Jack Perkins set the fastest two times of the session

The part-time IndyCar driver returned for four late flying laps, setting the 15th fastest time in the process.

Murphy, who had also been forced to the pits with a damaged rear toe-link, later told that he’d simply thought that Briscoe had been planning to let him through.

The session was punctuated by a lengthy red flag to retrieve the Norton Nissan of Taz Douglas, which stopped on the circuit after shedding a wheel.

A third 40 minute practice session will complete the day’s V8 Supercars track action later this afternoon.

See below for the Practice 2 result

1 Fujitsu Racing GRM Jack Perkins Holden Commodore VF 01:09.76
2 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Steve Owen Ford Falcon FG 01:09.99 00:00.23
3 SP Tools Racing Steven Johnson Mercedes E63 AMG 01:10.05 00:00.29
4 Heavy Haulage Australia Racing Andrew Thompson Mercedes E63 AMG 01:10.10 00:00.35
5 Fujitsu Racing GRM Greg Ritter Holden Commodore VF 01:10.14 00:00.38
6 Red Bull Racing Australia Warren Luff Holden Commodore VF 01:10.26 00:00.50
7 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Steven Richards Ford Falcon FG 01:10.29 00:00.53
8 Irwin Racing Craig Baird Mercedes E63 AMG 01:10.43 00:00.67
9 Dodo Insurance Racing Matthew Halliday Holden Commodore VF 01:10.44 00:00.68
10 Team BOC Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VF 01:10.45 00:00.69
11 Lockwood Racing Luke Youlden Holden Commodore VF 01:10.48 00:00.72
12 The Bottle-O FPR Ford Dean Canto Ford Falcon FG 01:10.54 00:00.78
13 Holden Racing Team Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VF 01:10.54 00:00.79
14 Red Bull Racing Australia Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VF 01:10.58 00:00.83
15 Supercheap Auto Racing Ryan Briscoe Holden Commodore VF 01:10.75 00:00.99
16 Jeld-wen FPR Ford John McIntyre Ford Falcon FG 01:10.84 00:01.08
17 ekol Racing Paul Morris Holden Commodore VF 01:10.91 00:01.16
18 Wilson Security Racing Dale Wood Ford Falcon FG 01:10.95 00:01.19
19 TEKNO Team VIP Jeroen Bleekemolen Holden Commodore VF 01:11.00 00:01.24
20 Jack Daniel’s Racing Karl Reindler Nissan Altima 01:11.04 00:01.28
21 Team HIFLEX Jonny Reid Holden Commodore VF 01:11.15 00:01.39
22 Wilson Security Racing Ashley Walsh Ford Falcon FG 01:11.16 00:01.40
23 Norton 360 Racing Daniel Gaunt Nissan Altima 01:11.18 00:01.43
24 Wilson Security Racing Chris Pither Holden Commodore VF 01:11.18 00:01.43
25 Holden Racing Team Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 01:11.27 00:01.51
26 Jack Daniel’s Racing David Russell Nissan Altima 01:11.43 00:01.67
27 Norton 360 Racing Taz Douglas Nissan Altima 01:11.67 00:01.92
28 Tekno Autosports Marc Lieb Holden Commodore VF 01:11.90 00:02.15


Comments are closed.