Sebastian Vettel wins as Webber lands Monza podium

Sebastian Vettel charges to another victory

Sebastian Vettel charges to another victory

Sebastian Vettel recorded another stunning victory to advance his claims of a fourth F1 title and deliver another body blow for Ferrari in the Italian Grand Prix at Monza.

Vettel led from the front in the Red Bull to beat Fernando Alonso with Mark Webber landing his first Monza rostrum finish in his final grand prix appearance at the iconic 5.793km circuit.

Red Bull were in another extraordinary league of their own despite their engineers delivering cautious messages to Vettel and Webber to short shift and protect their gearboxes in the latter stages.

Webber was told to change early between the second and third gears while Vettel was told to prematurely change between fifth and sixth.

Even so Webber was still able to put on a show and inch closer to the rear of Alonso’s Ferrari in the dying laps in an intense fight for second place.

Gearbox concerns aside, Vettel created a decent cushion to give himself an armchair ride to his 32nd career victory at the venue where he achieved his maiden F1 triumph in 2008.

The only blemish on the German’s race was a huge lock up where he damaged his front right tyre going into the first chicane after the start.

Felipe Massa cracked fourth place as Ferrari are expected to decide on a possible replacement for the Brazilian for 2014 in the coming days.

Nico Hulkenburg, who is believed to be firmly in the Ferrari frame, had a brilliant race to finish fifth in the Sauber ahead of Nico Rosberg.

Dan Ricciardo scrapped hard over the 53-laps to finish a sensational seventh ahead of the Lotus of Romain Grosjean. Then came Lewis Hamilton, whose race was fraught with problems with Jenson Button claiming 10th.

Alonso again drove a cracking race which was punctuated by a mega outside overtaking move on Webber early in the race at the Roggia chicane.


 1 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault 1:18.33.352S
 2 Fernando Alonso Ferrari +5.4
 3 Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault 6.3
 4 Felipe Massa Ferrari 9.3
 5 Nico Hulkenberg Sauber-Ferrari 10.3
 6 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 10.9
 7 Daniel Ricciardo Toro Rosso-Ferrari 32.3
 8 Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault 33.1
 9 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 33.5
10 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 38.3
11 Kimi Raikkonen Lotus-Renault 38.6
12 Sergio Perez McLaren-Mercedes 39.7
13 Esteban Gutierrez Sauber-Ferrari 40.8
14 Pastor Maldonado Williams-Renault 49.0
15 Valtteri Bottas Williams-Renault 56.8
16 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 1 lap
17 Charles Pic Caterham-Renault 1 lap
18 Giedo van der Garde Caterham-Renault 1 lap
19 Jules Bianchi Marussia-Cosworth 1 lap
20 Max Chilton Marussia-Cosworth 1 lap
21 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso-Ferrari 35 laps
22 Paul  Di Resta Force India-Mercedes 1 lap


Pos Driver Points
1 Sebastian Vettel 222
2 Fernando Alonso 169
3 Lewis Hamilton 141
4 Kimi Räikkönen 134
5 Mark Webber 130
6 Nico Rosberg 104
7 Felipe Massa 79
8 Romain Grosjean 57
9 Jenson Button 48
10 Paul Di Resta 36
11 Adrian Sutil 25
12 Sergio Pérez 18
13 Daniel Ricciardo 18
14 Nico Hülkenberg 17
15 Jean-Eric Vergne 13
16 Pastor Maldonado 1
17 Valtteri Bottas 0
18 Esteban Gutiérrez 0
19 Jules Bianchi 0
20 Charles Pic 0
21 Giedo van der Garde 0
22 Max Chilton 0


Comments are closed.