Pagenaud wins as Power and Dixon collide again

Simon Pagenaud takes second IndyCar win

Simon Pagenaud takes second IndyCar win

Simon Pagenaud moved into contention for the 2013 Indycar title after taking victory in a drama-filled Grand Prix of Baltimore.

The Schmidt Hamilton HP Motorsports driver earned his second Indycar Series victory by outlasting Josef Newgarden and what was left of the 24-car field in the 75-lap race.

Sebastien Bourdais was three seconds further down the road in third ahead of Justin Wilson and Simona de Silvestro who rounded out the top five.

There were six full-course cautions, with almost every car sustaining some damage and for the second time in as many races polesitter Scott Dixon and Will Power made contact.

On the lap 53 restart Power appeared to swipe across the track, collecting Dixon who was sent into the wall and into retirement.

Dixon had already made contact with Graham Rahal sending him into a spin five laps earlier. Power trundled home in 18th position.

“Rahal takes me out, doesn’t seem like there’s any penalty, and then the 12 [Power] just slams us into the wall,” a frustrated Dixon told NBCSN.

“Man, it’s been a rough couple of weeks…I don’t know what [Power] was thinking. I was clearly alongside and he went straight into me.”

Upon seeing a replay of the incident after the race, Power admitted he should have looked in his mirror.

“I was just looking at Bourdais’ back,” Power told NBCSN. “I got a good run on him, I was gonna get on his inside and Dixon obviously had the same run on me.

“I just feel bad about it. Had I looked in my mirror – I don’t know, I just didn’t even think to look in my mirror…I just feel bad for him. I know he’s in the championship hunt. Man, it was just a bad thing to have happen.”

As a result of Dixon’s retirement, the New Zealander is now 49 points behind championship leader Helio Castroneves, who came home in ninth. Pagenaud is now third in the standings following the victory.

Aside from a number of collisions which interrupted the race, Pagenaud, who had managed to escape the carnage behind him eventually took the lead from Marco Andretti with seven laps remaining.

As Andretti’s charge faded, Newgarden took over second spot and began to hunt down the Frenchman and he cut the lead to nine tenths of a second.

Tyre wear then became a factor and this allowed Pagenaud to sprint home to take the chequered flag.

“The car was fantastic,” Pagenaud said. “We got very lucky on the restarts; we didn’t get collected. I pushed hard on the last restart against Marco (Andretti) and TK (Tony Kanaan). Awesome job for the HP team. They’ve been awesome this weekend and I guess it’s good for the championship.”

Reigning champion Ryan Hunter-Reay endured a miserable afternoon as an anti-stall problem sent him to the rear of the field on the opening lap before electrical failure ended his day.

The Indycar series continues with the Grand Prix of Houston on October 5.

Race Highlights

See full result below

Pos Driver Car/Engine Laps Time/Delay
1 Simon Pagenaud Dallara/Honda 75 2h 16:32.3443
2 Josef Newgarden Dallara/Honda 75 4.1592
3 Sébastien Bourdais Dallara/Chevrolet 75 7.9588
4 Justin Wilson Dallara/Honda 75 10.7598
5 Simona de Silvestro Dallara/Chevrolet 75 11.6017
6 Charlie Kimball Dallara/Honda 75 21.4160
7 James Hinchcliffe Dallara/Chevrolet 75 22.8422
8 Sebastian Saavedra Dallara/Chevrolet 75 25.5377
9 Hélio Castroneves Dallara/Chevrolet 75 29.3117
10 Marco Andretti Dallara/Chevrolet 75 40.5499
11 Tristan Vautier Dallara/Honda 74 1 Lap
12 Oriol Servià Dallara/Chevrolet 74 1 Lap
13 Ernesto Viso Dallara/Chevrolet 74 1 Lap
14 Ed Carpenter Dallara/Chevrolet 74 1 Lap
15 Tony Kanaan Dallara/Chevrolet 73 Contact
16 Stefan Wilson Dallara/Honda 72 3 Laps
17 Graham Rahal Dallara/Honda 68 Contact
18 Will Power Dallara/Chevrolet 67 8 Laps
19 Scott Dixon Dallara/Honda 52 Contact
20 Ryan Hunter-Reay Dallara/Chevrolet 42 Mechanical
21 Dario Franchitti Dallara/Honda 22 Mechanical
22 Luca Filippi Dallara/Honda 12 Mechanical
23 James Jakes Dallara/Honda 5 Mechanical
24 Takuma Sato Dallara/Honda 4 Mechanical

Points standings

Pos Driver Points
1 Hélio Castroneves 501
2 Scott Dixon 452
3 Simon Pagenaud 431
4 Marco Andretti 430
5 Ryan Hunter-Reay 427
6 Justin Wilson 393
7 Dario Franchitti 388
8 James Hinchcliffe 376
9 Will Power 371
10 Charlie Kimball 363
11 Tony Kanaan 346
12 Ernesto Viso 304
13 Sébastien Bourdais 297
14 Josef Newgarden 291
15 Takuma Sato 278
16 Simona de Silvestro 278
17 Ed Carpenter 277
18 Graham Rahal 266
19 James Jakes 244
20 Tristan Vautier 230
21 Sebastian Saavedra 196
22 Oriol Servià 185
23 Alex Tagliani 163
24 Mike Conway 149
25 Ryan Briscoe 100
26 J.R. Hildebrand 93
27 Ana Beatriz 72
28 Carlos Muñoz 67
29 A.J. Allmendinger 65
30 Pippa Mann 29
31 James Davison 27
32 Luca Filippi 22
33 Stefan Wilson 14
34 Conor Daly 11
35 Townsend Bell 10
36 Buddy Lazier 8
36 Lucas Luhr 8
36 Katherine Legge 8



Comments are closed.