Wood wins again in Dunlop Series

Dale Wood

Dale Wood

Dale Wood extended his lead in the Dunlop Series by taking out the opening race of the weekend at Winton.

MW Motorsport team-mates Wood and Steve Owen beat a slow-starting pole-sitter Jack Perkins to the first corner.

The pair remained in one-two formation until Owen’s car slowed suddenly and stopped on the back straight with just three laps remaining.

Perkins, Andrew Jones and Ashley Walsh trailed Wood to the flag under Safety Car following a late-race incident between Morgan Haber and Nandi Kiss that saw both cars beached at Turn 11.

The race was bookended by Safety Cars, with Turn 1 also providing carnage.

An inside dive from Chris Pither created a three-wide squeeze with Cameron Waters and Taz Douglas, who was subsequently spun in the middle of the pack.

The cars of Andre Heimgartner and the luckless Casey Stoner both suffered heavy damage in the resulting traffic jam, instantly ruling the pair out of the race.

Douglas recovered to finish 20th, while Pither was 26th after serving a drive-through penalty.

Luke Youlden will start the second race from pole after climbing from 19th to 10th during the short spell of green flag running between Safety Cars.

See below for the Race 1 result 

1 GB Galvanizing/Wilson Security Dale Wood Ford Falcon FG 12 20:41.35
2 Eggleston Motorsport Jack Perkins Holden Commodore VE 12 20:42.06
3 Wilson Security Racing Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE2 12 20:42.87
4 Infants Friend Ashley Walsh Ford Falcon FG 12 20:43.76
5 Linde Material Handling Cameron Waters Holden Commodore VE2 12 20:44.44
6 Tony Dlberto Racing Nick McBride Ford Falcon FG 12 20:45.53
7 Go Karts Go Drew Russell Ford Falcon FG 12 20:45.99
8 I Seek George Miedecke Ford Falcon FG 12 20:46.86
9 R&J Batteries/NDD Geoff Emery Holden Commodore VE2 12 20:47.55
10 Think Holden Racing Luke Youlden Holden Commodore VE2 12 20:48.20
11 Ozstaff Racing Daniel Gaunt Ford Falcon FG 12 20:49.05
12 Sargent Security Paul Morris Holden Commodore VE2 12 20:50.14
13 Rodney Jane Racing/Sonic Rodney Jane Ford Falcon FG 12 20:51.50
14 Action Racing Marcus Zukanovic Holden Commodore VE 12 20:52.79
15 Finance Ezi Racing Josh Hunter Ford Falocon FG 12 20:53.65
16 Marque Management Ant Pedersen Holden Commodore VE2 12 20:54.26
17 Alphabet Financial Services Josh Kean Holden Commodore VE2 12 20:54.98
18 Rodney Jane Racing/Sonic Gary Jacobson Ford Falcon FG 12 20:55.81
19 Poll Performance Jim Pollicina Holden Commodore VE 12 20:56.89
20 Arvo Racing/Image Racing Taz Douglas Ford Falcon FG 12 20:57.94
21 Formula Tech/Interquip Racing Brett Stewart Holden Commodore VE 12 20:58.78
22 Voight Contracting Aaron Tebb Holden Commodore VE2 12 21:00.21
23 Rev Trans WA Brett Hobson Holden Commodore VE2 12 21:00.84
24 Blackchrome Sports & Workwear Sam Walter Holden Commodore VE2 12 21:02.69
25 Warrin Mining Volvo Constructi Adam Wallis Holden Commodore VE 12 21:03.79
26 Icebreak Racing Chris Pither Holden Commodore VE2 12 21:04.96
27 Gulf Western Oil Michael Hector Ford Falcon FG 12 21:05.69
28 Resi Home Loans Aaron McGill Holden Commodore VE2 12 21:53.27
DNF Pacific Hoists – Hitachi Nandi Kiss Holden Commodore VE 9 16:01.03
DNF Miraflores Estate/MWM Morgan Haber Ford Falcon FG 9 16:01.68
DNF Sherrin Rentals/MWM Steve Owen Ford Falson FG 8 14:07.59
DNF CEG Rentals/Go Karts Go Aaren Russell Ford Falcon FG 6 24:40.02
DNF Triple Eight Race Engineering Casey Stoner Holden Commodore VE2    
DNF Finance Ezi Racing Andre Heimgartner Ford Falcon FG    


Comments are closed.