Moffat puts Nissan on top in Winton practice

James Moffat

James Moffat

James Moffat has further boosted expectations for a competitive run from Nissan Motorsport at Winton this weekend by setting the fastest time in Friday practice.

After a wet opening 75 minute hit-out, the rural Victorian venue proved dry enough for slicks within just minutes of Practice 2 getting underway.

Spots of rain began to fall towards the end of the session, although did not prove enough to alter lap speed.

Moffat’s best time of 1:23.48s came with 15 minutes remaining and left the Altima driver 0.12s quicker than next fastest man David Reynolds.

Chaz Mostert, Scott McLaughlin, Will Davison, Shane van Gisbergen, Michael Caruso, Fabian Coulthard, Rick Kelly and Jason Bright completed the top 10.

Those hoping to bump Moffat from the top with a late charge were left disappointed as a trip into the Turn 4 tyre barrier for James Courtney ensured the session was effectively over four minutes early.

Holdsworth lost control of his Mercedes after dropping a wheel off on the Turn 4 entry

Holdsworth lost control of his Mercedes after dropping a wheel off on the Turn 4 entry

As was the case in Practice 1, the wet track verges contributed to a total of five red flags.

Three were called for single car incidents at Turn 4. Scott Pye and Lee Holdsworth had earlier spun at the corner, with the latter’s Mercedes suffering left-rear damage after making the tyre wall.

Off-track excursions for Alexandre Premat at Turn 11 and Dean Fiore at Turn 8 accounted for the remaining stoppages.

Dean Canto, Karl Reindler and Nick Percat were the only three co-drivers to cut laps in the second session, which was open to primary drivers for its duration.

See below for the full Practice 2 result

1 Norton 360 Racing James Moffat Nissan Altima 1:23.4785*
2 The Bottle-O FPR Ford D.Reynolds/D.Canto Ford Falcon FG 01:23.60 00:00.12
3 Wilson Security Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG 01:23.63 00:00.15
4 Fujitsu Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Holden Commodore VF 01:23.67 00:00.19
5 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 01:23.82 00:00.35
6 TEKNO Team VIP Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 01:23.89 00:00.41
7 Norton 360 Racing Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 01:23.94 00:00.46
8 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 01:23.94 00:00.46
9 Jack Daniel’s Racing R.Kelly/K.Reindler Nissan Altima 01:24.13 00:00.65
10 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 01:24.21 00:00.74
11 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG 01:24.21 00:00.74
12 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VF 01:24.27 00:00.79
13 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 01:24.34 00:00.86
14 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 01:24.37 00:00.89
15 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 01:24.45 00:00.97
16 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 01:24.46 00:00.98
17 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 01:24.46 00:00.98
18 Holden Racing Team G.Tander/N.Percat Holden Commodore VF 01:24.48 00:01.00
19 Jeld-wen FPR Ford Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 01:24.50 00:01.02
20 HHA Racing Tim Slade Mercedes E63 AMG 01:24.51 00:01.03
21 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VF 01:24.53 00:01.05
22 Wilson Security Racing Tim Blanchard Ford Falcon FG 01:24.64 00:01.16
23 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 01:24.70 00:01.22
24 Team HIFLEX Tony D’Alberto Holden Commodore VF 01:24.75 00:01.27
25 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VF 01:24.79 00:01.31
26 SP Tools Racing Maro Engel Mercedes E63 AMG 01:24.80 00:01.32
27 Dodo Insurance Racing Dean Fiore Holden Commodore VF 01:24.97 00:01.49
28 ekol Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore VF 01:25.60 00:02.13


Comments are closed.